Mumbai North election result: Congress’ Urmila Matondkar loses to BJP’s heavyweight Gopal Shetty by 4.65 lakh votes

By: |
Updated: May 24, 2019 9:05 AM

Mumbai North election result 2019: BJP's heavyweight Gopal Shetty retained the seat for his party by a margin of over 4.65 lakh votes while actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar suffered a humiliating defeat as she bagged just 2.41 lakh votes.

Mumbai North Lok Sabha election result, Mumbai North election resultBJP heavyweight Gopal Shetty retains Mumbai North, beats Urmila Matondkar by a margin of over 4.50 lakh votes

Mumbai North Lok Sabha election result 2019: BJP heavyweight Gopal Shetty retained Mumbai North Lok Sabha seat, defeating Congress candidate and Bollywood actor Urmila Matondkar by a margin of 4,65,247 votes, the Election Commission of India said. The battle for Mumbai North was keenly watched this time due to the entry of Matondkar as a Congress candidate BJP’s Shetty who had in 2014 won by a margin of over 4.25 lakh votes against his nearest Congress rival Sanjay Nirupam.

The EC said that while Shetty secured 7,06,678 votes, Urmila bagged 2,41,431 votes. Speaking to reporters later, Urmila said though she has lost her maiden election, she won’t quit politics as she has a long way to go. “I am going to continue politics, as I’ve been saying from day one. This has been an absolute glorious battle for me. I am standing defeated in front of you but do I look like a lost person?” she said.


Final Result: Gopal Shetty wins by a margin of over 4.65 lakh votes.

11.03 am: Congress candidate Urmila Matondkar is trailing behind by 90,389 votes against BJP’s Gopal Shetty from Mumbai North Lok Sabha seat.

8 am: Counting of votes begins in the Mumbai North Lok Sabha seat. BJP’s heavyweight Gopal Shetty is contesting against actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar.

Shetty is a known face for the common people in Mumbai North and had served as a member of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from Borivali. Besides, he was also the president of the Mumbai unit of BJP. Urmila, on the other hand, joined the Congress just ahead of the elections and is hopeful that her popularity as a film star will help her to overpower Shetty. In 2014, Shetty had defeated Congress’ Sanjay Nirupam by over 4.45 lakh votes.

According to Election Commission’s data, the constituency has an electorate of 17,83,870, among whom 9,72,645 are male voters and 8,11,225 female voters. The seat went to polls in the fourth phase on April 28 and witnessed a total turnout of 59.95%. Although Urmila put up a good fight in Mumbai North Lok Sabha constituency, Shetty may have an advantage. Congress has always found it tough to find a leader who could contest from here. In the last 15 years, the Congress has fielded actor Govinda, former Shiv Sena worker-turned-Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam, and this time it has fielded Urmila, hoping she will make a positive difference to the fortunes of the party.

The constituency which was created in 2008 after the delimitation process comprises six Assembly seats — Borivali, Dahisar, Magathane, Kandivali East, Charkop and Malad West. Barring Malad West, all the five Assembly seats are currently being held by the ruling coalition (BJP-Shiv Sena) candidates.

During the election campaign, Shetty visited local temples and reached out to people to seek their support. Shetty refrained from criticising Urmila but said that he is opposed to the Congress’ ideology. Shetty has a dominance in the constituency and was seen promising people that he wants better traffic management in the city. Shetty during his rallies, public meetings and roadshow, was greeted with the slogan “vikas, vikas, vikas, (development) Gopal Shetty mhanje vikas (Gopal Shetty means development)” by his supporters.

Urmila, who is contesting election first time, addressed several public meetings, held roadshows and press conferences. In all her rallies, Urmila emerged as a strong proponent of her party’s beliefs and was sharp in her criticism of the Modi government.

The Mumbai North seat was earlier represented by BJP’s Ram Naik five times between 1989 and 2004. In 2004, Naik lost to Congress’ Govinda by just 48,000 votes. In 2009, Congress’ Sanjay Nirupam defeated Naik by a thin margin of 6,000 votes. However, in 2014, the BJP regained power with Gopal Shetty dethroning Nirupam by over 4.45 lakh votes.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Karnataka to receive 13.90 lakh vaccine vials in a couple of days, says K Sudhakar