Madhya Pradesh election result: After assembly shock, Lok Sabha cheer for BJP

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 7:55:32 PM

MP Lok Sabha election result: The BJP won 28 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh. Congress' both heavyweights Jyotiraditya Scindia and Digvijaya Singh lost from Bhopal and Guna, respectively.

MP election result, madhya pradesh result live Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh has 40 Lok Sabha seats. Both the states are currently ruled by the Congress. However, exit polls have predicted an easy win for the BJP in these states.

MP election result 2019:That Bharatiya Janata Party performed exceptionally well in Madhya Pradesh, months after it lost the power to Congress by a thin margin. According to Election Commission of India, the saffron party won 28 out of 29 Lok Sabha seats in this Hindi speaking state. The Congress couldn’t give the BJP fight anywhere in the state except in Chhindwara from where Nakul Nath, son of CM Kamal Nath, was leading. Several Congress heavyweights including two-time CM Digvijaya Singh and Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia lost from their respective seats in Bhopal and Guna.

Buoyed by encouraging results, Madhya Pradesh BJP chief Rakesh Singh asked Chief Minister Kamal Nath to resign on moral grounds. “The BJP is leading on 28 of the 29 seats in the state. Congress bigwigs are losing the elections. In such a situation, the Congress does not have the moral authority to stay in power and Chief Minister Kamal Nath must resign from his post,” Singh said.

Congress came to power in Madhya Pradesh in the recently held Assembly elections. The Congress government is supported by the SP, the BSP and independent candidates.


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.