Manipur Elections 2017 Live Updates: N Biren Singh sworn-in as the new Chief Minister

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 15, 2017 2:05:29 PM

Manipur Elections 2017 Live Updates: N Biren Singh was elected the leader of the 21-member BJP legislature party yesterday and is set to form the government

Manipur election 2017, 2017 manipur assembly election, biren singh, n biren singh, biren singh oath taking, biren singh oath ceremony, najma heptullahBJP leader N Biren Singh with Manipur governor Najma Heptullah. (Source: PTI)

Manipur is set to witness its first BJP-led government N Biren Singh took oath today in the presence of the Governor Najma Heptulla. N Biren Singh was elected the leader of the 21-member BJP legislature party yesterday and is set to form the government. Even though BJP failed to get a clear mandate, it has claimed support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member assembly. Besides the 21 party MLAs, BJP has the support of four NPP, and one legislator each of LJP, TMC and Congress. This will also mark the end of Okram Ibobi Singh’s dominance in the state who has been the Chief Minister of Manipur since 2002.

Watch the oath-taking ceremony live here:

READ | N Biren Singh, Manipur’s new Chief Minister: Here is all you want to know about him

Here are the live updates from Manipur:

2:05 PM: All the members of Biren Singh’s cabinet have taken the oath and the ceremony has concluded.

1:53 PM: Th Biswajit of the BJP, L Jayantakumar of the NPP, Karan Shyam of LJP, L Haokip of NPP, N Koyisi of NPP, Losie Dikho of NPF have taken oath as Ministers along with Th Shyamkumar who contested the elections on a Congres ticket.

1:37 PM: N Biren Singh contested the 2007 elections with a ticket from the Indian National Congress and held the post of the Minister if Irrigation and Flood Control and Youth Affairs & Sports. However, in 2016, he fell apart with CM Okram Ibobi Singh and joined hands with BJP.

1:34 PM: Joykumar has taken oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. He is a former DGP of Manipur and was considered Ibobi Singh’s right-hand man. His party NPP formed a post-poll alliance with BJP in the state.

1:28 PM: N Biren Singh has taken oath as the new Chief Minister of Manipur in Imphal. His council of ministers will take the oath now:


1:22 PM: N Biren Singh has arrived for the oath-taking ceremony:

Indian Express Image

1:18 PM: Himanta Biswa Sarma claimed on 13th March that BJP has the support of 33 MLAs in Manipur. Even if 31 of them vote in favour of Biren Singh today, BJP  will form the government:

1:10 PM: Putting rest to all the speculations, Okram Ibobi Singh has arrived at the state assembly. He was served as the Manipur Chief Minister three times and defeated Irom Sharmila in this year’s assembly elections. Ibobi Singh is accompanied by state Congress president TN Haokip.

1:02 PM: The leaders have started coming in and the swearing-in ceremony will begin at any moment now.

12:48 PM: A separate seat has been reserved for the current Chief Minister but whether Okram Ibobi Singh will attend the oath-taking ceremony or not is yet not clear.

12:36 PM: Union Minister Prakash Javadekar has confirmed that Amit Shah and Venkaiah Naidu were scheduled to fly to Imphal but could not due to a snag in the aircraft. The oath-taking ceremony will go on in their absence.

12:28 PM: BJP President Amit Shah who was supposed to attend the oath-taking ceremony won’t be able to reach the venue due to other commitments. On the other hand, Okram Ibobi Singh has offered to resign as leader of the party in the ongoing CLP meeting of Congress.

You may also want to watch:

12:05 PM: One of the reasons behind BJP’s victory in Manipur is believed to be Himanta Biswa Sarma who was a Congressman himself and made the party unbeatable in the state since 2001. He helped BJP capture Assam last year and has now helped BJP win Manipur too.

11:50 AM: Yesterday Manohar Parrikar took the oath the new Chief Minister of Goa and today when N Biren Singh will be sworn-in, it will the second state where BJP will form the government despite failing to be the single largest party by cobbling together a post-poll alliance.

11:30 AM: Manipur Governor Najma Heptullah wasn’t pleased with the allegations put on her by Congress. While addressing the media yesterday, she said, “In my 37 years in Parliament and when I was in Congress or worked with non-Congress government, I never had such allegations been put on me. I invite the BJP-led group on Wednesday to form the government. The ceremony will begin at 1 pm.”

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: PM Narendra Modi’s promise on loan waiver may imperil the state’s fiscal path
2Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: From Narendra Modi charisma to Amit Shah organisational genius, here’s what inked BJP win
3Big reforms push by Narendra Modi govt expected by markets in wake of stunning BJP win in UP