Manipur Assembly Elections 2017 Phase 1 Polling Live Updates: Nearly 84% voting recorded, says Election Commission

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 4, 2017 6:39:14 PM

Polling has commenced in 38 constituencies for the first phase of Manipur Assembly elections 2017.

In all, 168 candidates are contesting in the first phase. (Reuters)

Polling has commenced in 38 constituencies for the first phase of Manipur Assembly elections 2017. 1,643 polling stations have been set up in areas spread over Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur and the hill districts of Churachandpur and Kangpokpi amidst tight security arrangements. Notably, elections are being held in two phases in this state. In all, 168 candidates are contesting in the first phase. The state has a 19,02,562-strong electorate comprising 9,28,573 male voters and 9,73,989 female voters. There are around 45,642 new electorates. In the run-up to the election for the 60-member House, all political parties in their campaigns mainly focused on the continuing economic blockade imposed by the United Naga Council and the state government’s inability to break it.

Catch us here for live updates:

06:30 pm: Nearly 84% voters turnout in the first phase of assembly elections in Manipur: Election Commission

06:25 pm: Imphal East witnesses 87% voting, highest ever in the constituency.

3: 15  pm: Polling time for the first phase of Manipur Election 2017 ends.

2: 30 pm: There are 7 women candidates standing for elections in this phase. 4 women in candidates will be contesting in the second phase of Manipur elections.

2: 15 PM: According to sources, there are around 45,642 new voters for the 2017 assembly polls in Manipur.

2: 00 pm: There have been no reports of violence from anywhere in the state up till now.

1: 20 pm: 69% voting recorded till 1 pm in the first phase.

1: 16 pm: Irom Sharmila’s PRJA candidate Erendro attacked by unknown persons.

1: 10 pm: Union Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari to address two public meetings in Manipur’s Noney in Tamenglong district and Khoirom in Thoubal.

1: 00 pm: According to sources, polling in Kongpal in Imphal East’s Khuria area witnessed participation of differently-abled and elderly people.

12: 45 pm: The second phase polling will be on March 8. Results of the election will be declared on March 11.

12: 30 pm: BJP party President Amit Shah too appeals to the people of Manipur to come out and vote.

12: 15 pm: Rajnath Singh appeals to voters to come and vote.

11: 24 am:  The Election Commission has ordered registration of an FIR against certain office bearers of the Manipur BJP and eight newspapers for publishing an advertisement without an approval of its monitoring committee. Read More

11: 10 am: 43% voting recorded till 11 am in the first phase

10: 54 am: Around 29 percent votes were cast in the first three hours of the first phase of Manipur Assembly elections today.

10: 15 am: Irom Sharmila casts her vote at booth no. 3/39 of Khurai assembly constituency, says she is confident of her victory.

Irom Sharmila cast her vote. (ANI)


9: 40 am: 21% voters turnout till 9 am.

9: 35 am: Irom Sharmila says she is getting a positive response. She also says that her party is for youth and change and she is confident of winning.

9: 28 am: Irom Sharmila arrives to cast her vote in Imphal.

9: 20 am: Special arrangement were made for the differently abled and senior citizens in Kongpal.

9:16 am: The other important issues which hogged the attention of the political parties are alleged lack of development, massive corruption, misappropriation of funds and worsening law and order in the state. Congress leaders, including party vice president Rahul Gandhi, put the spotlight on the “secretive nature” and contents of the Naga Framework Agreement between the central government and the NSCN (IM) in 2015.

8: 55 am: BJP leaders targeted the ruling party for its alleged failure to lift the over three month-long economic blockade on the two national highways of the land-locked state. BJP leaders also levelled corruption charges against the Congress government and its inability to provide basic amenities to the people of the state, particularly the supply of potable water. The Congress counterposed, saying the government during its 15-year rule implemented several development projects and improved the power supply.

8:45 am: Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh in a recent election rally had accused the BJP of trying to take credit for development projects like railway projects initiated and inaugurated by the Congress. All eyes are on rights activist Irom Sharmila Chanu who broke her 16-year fast last year and founded a party of her own ‘Peoples’ Resurgence and Justice Alliance’ to fight the Assembly election in her quest to get the dreaded AFSPA repealed. The party is fielding three candidates. The fate of one of the candidates would be decided in the first phase of the elections.

8: 30 am: 10% voter turnout recorded in the first hour of the Manipur first phase elections.

7: 45 am: First time voter shows her inked finger after casting vote in Manipur’s Bishnupur.

7: 30 am: Union Minister Piyush Goyal urges people of Manipur to vote.

Today is the first phase of the Manipur Assembly polls. I appeal to voters in the seats polling today to turnout in record numbers & vote.

Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) March 4, 2017

7.19 am: 

7.00 am: Polling begins for 38 assembly constituencies in first phase of Manipur polls.


Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Assembly Elections 2017: Manipur goes to polls tomorrow
2Manipur elections 2017: Trinamool Congress eyes 2012 repeat performance in state
3Rahul Gandhi: I want to see day when someone in London drinks nimbu, narangi juice with ‘Made in Manipur’ label on it