Khurai constituency Assembly election winner 2017

By: |
Updated: March 11, 2017 12:45:39 PM

Polling in Manipur Assembly elections took place on March 4 and 8.

manipur elections result, manipur election result, manipur poll result, khurai constituencyManipuri people stand in queues to cast their votes in Chandel constituency of Manipur on Wednesday during the last phase of state assembly elections. (PTI Photo)

Polling for 38 constituencies in the first phase of the Manipur Assembly elections took place on March 4 and all eyes will be on the second phase voting for the remaining 22 constituencies that will decide the fate of 98 candidates in the fray on March 8. A total of 1,643 polling stations were set up in areas spread over Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur and the hill districts of Churachandpur and Kangpokpi amidst tight security arrangements. After a massive 87 per cent voter turnaround during the first phase of the elections, both Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are all guns with their campaigning for the last phase of elections. While the ruling Congress is trying its best to retain governance in the state, BJP too is doing every bit to reach out to the minority voters including Manipuri Muslims. The minority sections constitute about 10 per cent of the state’s 19 lakh electorates. Out of the 22 seats that will go to polls in the second phase on March 8, Muslim votes are going to influence at least 6 of these constituencies in the Thoubal district alone.

The state has seen a hectic poll season with many star campaigners from major parties addressing multiple rallies and roadshows. There were also some bitter exchange of words between the Congress and BJP over the ongoing economic blockade in the state.

Khurai is constituency No. 3 of Manipur legislative assembly. It is situated in Imphal East district.

Number of voters

As per the Election Commission data, Khurai has a total of 29,556 registered voters out of which 14,197 are male and 15,359 are female registered voters.

What are the key issues

Economic growth, road and highway constructions and education are some major issues in this constituency.

Who was the winner last time

During the 2012 Assembly elections, Congress won this constituency by a margin of 5,089 votes. Dr. Ng. Bijoy Singh who won from Congress bagged 11,618 votes followed by Leishangthem Shusindro Meitei of AITC who got just 6,529 votes.

Who are the competing candidatesLeishangthem Susindro Meitei (BJP), Dr. Ngairangbam Bijoy Singh (Congress) and R.K. Amusana (CPI).

Why this constituency is important?

Khurai seat has been one of the strongest seats for Congress over the past, but making the battle tough this time, CPI is giving a neck to neck tie to the ruling party here. While BJP has blamed the ruling party of for not being able to lift over the 3-months long economic blockade on the two national highways of the land locked state. On the other hand Congress has blame the BJP of taking credit for various developments that has happened in the state.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Manipur Assembly Election Results Leads 2017 Live Updates: Blow to Ibobi Singh BJP stakes claim to form government
2Manipur Elections 2017: Wait is over! Counting to begin at 8 am tomorrow
3Why BJP rise in Manipur will change North-East India for the good