Heingang constituency Assembly election winner 2017

By: |
Updated: March 11, 2017 12:44:28 PM

The state has seen a hectic poll season with many star campaigners from major parties addressing multiple rallies and roadshows.

Heingang constituency Assembly election winner 2017, manipur elections result, manipur election result, manipur poll result, heingyangVoters stand in queues at a polling center to cast their votes during the 1st phase of Manipur Assembly elections. (PTI)

As the Manipur Assembly elections underwent polling in 38 constituencies in the first phase on March 4, all eyes are now on the second phase where voting will happen on the remaining 22 constituencies of the state. Fate of as many as 98 candidates are in the fray, major parties including Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were seen campaigning for their respective parties with full throttle. During the first phase of Assembly polls, a total of 1,643 polling stations were set up in areas spread over Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur and the hill districts of Churachandpur and Kangpokpi amidst tight security arrangements. While the ruling Congress is trying its best to retain governance in the state, BJP too is doing every bit to reach out to the minority voters including Manipuri Muslims. The minority sections constitute about 10 per cent of the state’s 19 lakh electorates. Out of the 22 seats that will go to polls in the second phase on March 8, Muslim votes are going to influence at least 6 of these constituencies in the Thoubal district alone.

The state has seen a hectic poll season with many star campaigners from major parties addressing multiple rallies and roadshows. There were also some bitter exchange of words between the Congress and BJP over the ongoing economic blockade in the state.

Heingang is constituency No. 2 of Manipur legislative assembly. It is situated in Imphal East district and comes under Inner Manipur Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open assembly constituency.

Number of voters

As per the Election Commission data, Heingang assembly constituency has 28,494 registered voters out of which 13,923 are male and 14,571 are female registered voters.

What are the key issues

Economic growth, infrastructure and employment are some key issues in this constituency.

Who was the winner last time

During the 2012 assembly elections, Congress won this constituency by a convincing margin of 2,082 votes. N. Biren from Congress bagged a total of 11,872 votes followed by Naoroibam Ratan (Kapu) Meetei of NCP who got 9,790 votes. The total voter turnout was 86.38 per cent.

Who are the competing candidates

Nongthombam Biren Singh (BJP), Naoroibam Ratan Meetei Kapu (Congress), Pangeijam Saratchandra Singh (AITC) and Pangeijam Saratchandra Singh (IND).

Why this constituency is important?

This constituency seems to be one of the most unpredictable one will none of the party claiming to form government here. With parties including BJP and the Congress failing to lure voters here, small parties and independent candidates might get advantage in the polls.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Assembly Election Results Leads 2017 Live updates: Manohar Parrikar appoints as Goa CM, asked to prove majority in 15 days
2Manipur Assembly Election Results Leads 2017 Live Updates: Blow to Ibobi Singh BJP stakes claim to form government
3Uttarakhand Assembly Election Results Leads 2017 Live Updates: One booth of Lohaghat seat to go for repolling