Lok Sabha polls: Nomination process begins in Muzaffarnagar, RLD’s Ajit Singh in fray

By: |
New Delhi | Published: March 18, 2019 12:09:35 PM

The Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

sp bsp alliance, mayawati, Muzaffarnagar, uttar pradesh lok sabha, akhilesh yadav, ajit singh, tejaswi yadav, lalu yadav,
The process of filing nominations for the Lok Sabha elections began in Uttar Pradesh’s Muzaffarnagar, where polling will be held on April 11, with the district administration issuing the notification on Monday.

District Election Officer Ajay Shanker Pandey told PTI here that the last date for filing of nominations is March 25. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be taken up on March 26 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 28.

The Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

READ ALSO | Who will be Goa’s next Chief Minister? Stalemate continues after Manohar Parrikar’s demise as allies drive hard bargain with BJP

Besides Muzaffarnagar, seven constituencies in Uttar Pradesh – Kairana, Bijnor, Baghpat, Bulandshahr, Saharanpur, Meerut and Gautam Budh Nagar, will go to polls in the first phase.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance will be fielding Ajit Singh from Muzaffarnagar seat. The other parties in the fray, including the ruling BJP and Congress, have not yet declared their candidates.

The results will be announced on May 23.

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.