Lok Sabha elections: Campaigning ends for the last phase, voting on Sunday

By: |
New Delhi | Published: May 17, 2019 8:13:42 PM

Results of all seven phases will be out on May 23.

lok sabha elections, lok sabha elections 2019Congress workers during an election campaign in support of party’s candidate from Amritsar seat Gurjeet Singh Aujla ahead of the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha polls, in Amritsar. (PTI)

The election campaign for the seventh and final phase ended on Friday evening with as many as 59 Lok Sabha polls going to polls on Sunday. Polling will be held in 13 seats each in Punjab and Uttar Pradesh, 9 in Bengal, 8 seats each in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, 4 in Himachal Pradesh, 3 in Jharkhand and 1 in Chandigarh.

The Election Commission on Wednesday ended the campaigning 20 hours before the scheduled time in West Bengal after reports of violence during Amit Shah’s rally in Kolkata on Tuesday. This election in Bengal was marred by violence forcing the election commission to step in on a number of occasions and issuing notices.

Among the key contenders in the fray are Prime Minister Modi from Varanasi, Union Minister Manoj Sinha from Ghazipur, and Ravi Kishan from Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh. The last phase poll will also decide the fate of eight candidates of Samajwadi Party and five of Bahujan Samaj Party of the SP-BSP-RLD alliance, which is giving a tough challenge to BJP.

Also read: Damage control: Amit Shah distances BJP from comments by Ananth Hegde, Pragya Thakur and Nalin Kateel

In Punjab, the key figures are SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal, Punjab Congress president Sunil Jakhar from Gurdaspur, Sunny Deol from Gurdaspur, Congress leaders Manish Tewari from Anandpur Sahib, Preneet Kaur from Patiala, AAP’s Bhagwant Mann and two union ministers Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Hardeep Singh Puri.

Apart from these, eight seats in Bihar and three seats in Jharkhand will also go to polls on Sunday. In Bihar, the constituencies that will go to polls are Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat, Jehanabad and Nalanda.

In Patna Sahib, Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha, who was till recently with the BJP, is up against Union Minister and senior BJP leader Ravi Shankar Prasad. Before the upcoming seventh phase, six phases were held on April 11, April 18, April 29, May 6 and May 12. Results of all seven phases and Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha will be declared on May 23.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1BJP pushed to corner, Congress furious as Godse centre of debate on last day of campaigning
2Damage control: Amit Shah distances BJP from comments by Ananth Hegde, Pragya Thakur and Nalin Kateel
3From Kashmir to Kanyakumari, the nation is saying ‘abki baar, 300 paar’: PM Modi at his last rally for Lok Sabha election 2019