Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Don’t spread confusion, Mayawati, Akhilesh warn Congress over offer of 7 seats

By: |
New Delhi | Published: March 18, 2019 3:19:19 PM

After deciding to contest all 80 parliamentary seats in UP, the Congress left seven for the SP-BSP-RLD alliance.

akhilesh yadav, mayawati, lok sabha elections, lok sabha elections 2019Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati

Days after the Congress party left seven seats for the SP-BSP-RLD combine in Uttar Pradesh, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati and Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav hit out at the party and warned against creating any confusion in the minds of the voters. Mayawati on Monday charged at the Congress for leaving out seven Lok Sabha seats for the alliance and asked it to contest from all seats in Uttar Pradesh.

The Congress’ offer came after Akhilesh and Mayawati left two seats for the grand old party in Uttar Pradesh – the Gandhi family bastions of Amethi and Rae Bareli. After deciding to contest all 80 parliamentary seats in UP, the Congress then left seven for the SP-BSP-RLD alliance.

Taking to Twitter, Mayawati said the Congress party is free to field its candidates in all the parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh. The state has 80 Lok Sabha constituencies. Observing that the alliance was capable of defeating the saffron party on its own, Mayawati made it clear that her party won’t enter into any alliance with Congress.

On Sunday, the Congress had announced that it would leave over dozen Lok Sabha seats for other parties which included seven for the SP, BSP and RLD alliance for the upcoming polls.The party also announced it would leave two seats for Apna Dal and entered into an electoral tie up with the lesser known Jan Adhikar Party.

“The Congress is leaving seven Lok Sabha seats in the state for the SP, BSP and RLD alliance. These include Mainpuri, Kannauj and Firozabad. Apart from this, the party will not field any candidate on seats from where BSP chief Mayawati, RLD chief Ajit Singh and his son Jayant Chaudhary are likely to contest or may contest,” Indian Express quoted Congress leader Raj Babbar as saying on Sunday.

Seconding Mayawati’s view on Monday, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav also took to Twitter saying, “The alliance of SP, BSP and RLD is capable of defeating the BJP. Congress should not create any kind of confusion.”

Also read: Also read: Lok Sabha elections 2019: Jana Sena, BSP tie up in Andhra Pradesh; Kalyan wants Mayawati to be PM

The Lok Sabhe elections will be held in seven phases from April 11-May 19, while results will be announced on May 23. The trio of SP, BSP and RLD have formed an alliance in the state. According to the deal, the SP will contest in 37 Lok Sabha seats, BSP in 38, leaving out three RLD. The alliance had left two for Congress to contest from Rae Bareli and Amethi

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.