HD Kumaraswamy, Channapatna and Ramanagaram constituency Karnataka election results 2018 LIVE updates: JD(S) leader wins both seats

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: May 15, 2018 1:00:32 PM

Channapatna and Ramanagaram constituency Karnataka election results 2018 LIVE updates: HD Kumaraswamy is the current president of Janata Dal (Secular). He is contesting from two constituencies --- Ramanagara and Channapatna. Kumaraswamy had served as the CM of Karnataka between February 3, 2006, and October 9, 2007.

HD Kumaraswamy, Channapatna constituency, Ramanagaram constituency, Janata Dal Secular, Karnataka election, Karnataka Assembly election, Karnataka election result 2018File pic of HD Kumaraswamy (Pic credit: Renuka Puri)

Channapatna and Ramanagaram constituency of Karnataka election results 2018: HD Kumaraswamy, the son of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, and Janata Dal (Secular) President has won from Ramanagaram seat. He has also won from Channapatna assembly constituency. Ramanagara is his strong base as he had won three times from here. Kumaraswamy had served as the CM of Karnataka between February 3, 2006, and October 9, 2007. In 2013 assembly polls, Kumaraswamy had successfully contested from Ramanagaram constituency. The Ramanagara district has produced three CMs. The JD(S) president enjoys a good support from electorate belonging to all caste and religion

Check  Karnataka election result full list of winners

Ramanagaram constituency has a significant population of Muslims who have been historically supporting the JD(S). The Congress party has fielded Iqbal Hussain from here thus making the battle interesting. The party has given a ticket to Hussain to divide the Muslim votes. The total number of registered voters is 8,64,959.

In Channapatna constituency, Kumaraswamy is facing a challenge from CP Yogeshwar of BJP and HM Revanna (Transport Minister in the outgoing Congress government) of Congress. In the previous election, Yogeshwar had successfully contested from this seat on a Samajwadi Party ticket. A few months back, he quit the SP and joined the BJP.

Check Karnataka election Result LIVE

Who is Kumaraswamy?

Kumaraswamy was born on December 16, 1959, in Haradanahalli of Hassan district in Karnataka. He began his public life in 1996 when he first won the general elections from Kanakapura in Ramanagara district. But in 1998, when he sought re-election from here, he lost to MV Chandrashekara Murthy. Next year, he again unsuccessfully contested assembly polls from Sathanur constituency. But in 2004, he won from the Ramanagaram assembly seat. The same year, his JD(S) and the Congress decided to come together to form a government. In February 2006, when the coalition government collapsed, he joined the ranks with the ranks with the BJP to form a new government. In 2008 assembly polls, he once again won from Ramanagaram constituency.

Apart from politics, Kumaraswamy had in past produced several Kannada films.

Channapatna and Ramanagaram seats election result 2018

According to latest news, the JD(S) leader ha also won the Channapatna seat

As per the latest news, HD Kumaraswamy is reelected from Ramanagaram Assembly seat.

As per latest trends, Kumaraswamy is leading in both Channapatna and Ramanagaram constituencies.

JD(S) CM candidate and party’s main face HD Kumaraswamy is leading over the Congress candidate by 1552 votes in Ramanagara constituency.

Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.