GT Devegowda, Chamundeshwari Constituency, Karnataka election results 2018 LIVE updates: Devegowda defeats Siddaramaiah by over 30000 votes

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: May 15, 2018 3:01:44 PM

Chamundeshwari Constituency, Karnataka election result 2018: In a big shocker, GT Devegowda defeated CM Siddaramaiah by over 30,000 votes in Chamundeshwari constituency.

G T Devegowda (ANI)

Chamundeshwari Constituency, Karnataka election result 2018: In a big shocker, GT Devegowda defeated CM Siddaramaiah by over 30,000 votes in Chamundeshwari constituency. Chamundeshwari Constituency has witnessed a fierce battle between the Chief Minister Siddaramaiah (INC) and G T Devegowda (once a close associate of Siddaramaiah). Having represented Chamundeshwari in 2013, G T Deve Gowda can put up a good fight. Many other candidates fought for this seat such as S R Gopalrao from BJP, M S Praveen from BJC, Gurumallesh from AIMEP,etc.

Check Karnataka election Result LIVE

Who is G T Devegowda?

G T Devegowda is the JD(S) MLA from Chamundeshwari. In 2013, he had won the assembly elections from Chamundeshwari constituency with a margin of 7,103 votes securing 42.87 percent of the total votes polled. He has also represented Hansur constituency in the past had mixed with BJP before re-entering JD(S). sixty-year-old was associated with Siddaramaiah for nearly three decades.

Chamundeshwari Constituency, Karnataka election result 2018:

1:31 PM: GT Devegowda defeats CM Siddaramaiah by over 30,000 votes in Chamundeshwari constituency,

12:59 AM: Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah all set for defeat in Chamundeshwari constituency. GT Devegowda of JD(S) is leading by over 32,000 votes against Siddaramaiah.

11:28 AM: Siddaramaiah continues to trail in Chamundeshwari after 12 rounds of counting as per NEWS9.

11:15 AM: “People have rejected Siddaramaiah. He lost because of his attitude, because of attacking everyone & because of his loose talk,” says GT Devegowda, JD(S) candidate who is leading over Siddaramaiah in Chamundeshwari by 17000 votes.

11:11 AM: BJP tweets after GT Devegowda after Siddaramaiah trails in Chamundeshwari.

10:55 AM: Siddaramaiah continues to trail against GT Devegowda. JD(S) GT Devegowda leads by 17,966 votes in Chamundeshwari.

10:25 AM: BJP takes lead on 101 seats, Congress 46 seats, JD(S) leads in 38 seats (Others-03)

10:20 AM: Congress’ UT Abdul Khader declared winner from Mangalore constituency.

Check  Karnataka election result full list of winners

10:15 AM: CM Siddaramaiah is trailing from Chamundeshwari by over 12,000 votes, JD(S) GT Deve Gowda leading.

10:03 AM: Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah trailing in both seats of Chamundeshwari and Badami.

10 AM: BJP leading on 85 seats, Congress on 47, JD(S) ahead on 35 seats and others on 2 seats as per official EC trends.

9:02 AM: BJP leading on 22 seats, Congress leading on 13 seats, JDS on 3 and others on 1, as per official EC trends.

8:50 AM: Siddaramaiah trailing by 8000 votes.

8:47 AM: BJP leading on 4 seats, Congress leading on 2 seats as per official EC trends.

8:33 AM: GT Devegowda gets 6904 votes at the end of first round of counting.

8:30 AM: GT Devegowda of JD(S) leading by approx 4000 votes over CM Siddaramaiah in Chamundeshwari after round 1.

7:58 AM: Counting for postal ballots began 10 minutes ahead of time at 38 counting centres.

About Chamundeshwari Constituency

Chamundeshwari is a Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Mysore district and southern Karnataka region. A total of 2,89,138 voters are there in the constituency. it has a literacy rate of around 73 percent. In 2013, constituency witnessed a voter turnout of 74.23 percent. This seat was won by G K Devegowda in the previous Karnataka assembly elections. This year G T Devegowda of JD(S) is contesting against CM Siddaramaiah of Indian National Congress.

Follow for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition