Chikkanna, Heggadadevankote constituency Karnataka election results 2018: Congress candidate Anil Kumar C wins

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: May 16, 2018 11:43:04 AM

Heggadadevankote constituency Karnataka election result 2018: Chikkanna is contesting on a Janata Dal (Secular) ticket. In 2013, he had contested on a Congress ticket.

Karnataka Assembly Elections (Image: financialexpress.com)

Heggadadevankote constituency Karnataka election result 2018: Chikkanna is contesting on a Janata Dal (Secular) ticket. He contested the 2013 Karnataka Assembly elections on a Congress ticket and amassed the second highest percentage of the vote from this constituency. The current MLA of the Heggadadevankote constituency is Chikkamadu S of JD(S), who will not be contesting for any positions this year.

Check Karnataka election Result LIVE

Who is Chikkanna?

Chikkanna was the chosen Congress MLA from Heggadadevankote after 2008 Assembly Elections. He was marred with controversy right after the 2008 elections, when he was accused of fighting the elections from H.D.Kote, a constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribes, with a fake caste certificate. Later on, he lost  2013 Karnataka elections under a Congress ticket. After that, he went on to join BJP, which he again left in 2017 to join Janata Dal (Secular), with whom he will be fighting for 2018 elections.

Check  Karnataka election result full list of winners

About Heggadadevankote constituency
Heggadadevana kote or H.D.Kote is a taluk in Mysore district of Karnataka. Kakana kote forest lies in Heggadadevana kote taluk. It has a population of 14,313 of which 7,184 are males while 7,129 are females as per report released by Census India 2011. The literacy rate of Heggadadevankote is 79.53%, which is higher than the state average. H D Kote’s economy is mainly dependent on agriculture, and has four reservoirs – the Kabini, Nugu, Hebbala and Taraka reservoirs, to facilitate in farming.

Heggadadevankote constituency Karnataka election result 2018

# According to the EC data, Anil Kumar C defeated Chikkanna by a margin of 22,093 votes.

8:50 am: Congress’ Anil Kumar C of Congress leads. He is pitted against BJP’s Siddaraju and Chikkanna of JD(S)


Follow financialexpress.com for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition