Battle for 2019: JDU-BJP-LJP finalise seat-sharing; here is Janata Dal (United) list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections

By: |
March 18, 2019 12:54 PM

In the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the BJP and JD(U) are once contesting elections together in Bihar. Both the parties are contesting 17 seats each, leaving six seats for Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

JDU list of candidatesThe Janata Dal (United) will contest from 17 seats on Bihar.

The battle in Bihar will be among those most keenly watched as the Lok Sabha elections 2019 kick off to elect a new government in power. Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s bid for a second term has turned into a battle of prestige for the BJP as well as NItish Kumar who dumped the alliance with Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress. The elections will see BJP and the Janata Dal (United) reunite for the first time after 2010 when the state went to polls to elect a new Assembly. The alliance had secured 206 seats in 243 chairs House. Before this, they had contested the 2009 Lok Sabha elections in a partnership to win 32 of the 40 parliamentary seats.

The BJP and JD(U) are often considered natural allies but JD(U) quit the NDA way back in 2013 when BJP declared Narendra Modi as its prime ministerial candidate. As expected, when Nitish Kumar formed the government in 2015 in Bihar with support from arch-rival Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD, the BJP upped its ante against him and his government as it went on a fierce campaign highlighting the corruption charges against RJD leaders and return of goondaraj. As a result, Nitish dissolved the government and joined the ranks with its BJP to form government.

In the upcoming elections to the Lok Sabha, the BJP and JD(U) are once contesting elections together. The parties are contesting 17 seats each, leaving Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) of Ram Vilas Paswan, a prominent Dalit leader in Bihar, six seats.

Below is the list of constituencies the JD(U) will contest:

1. Valmiki Nagar

2. Sitamarhi

3. Jhanjharpur

4. Supaul

5. Kishanganj

6. Katihar

7. Purnia

8. Madhepura

9. Gopalganj

10. Siwan

11. Bhagalpur

12. Banka

13. Munger

14. Nalanda

15. Karakat

16. Jahanabad

17. Gaya

The elections in Bihar will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. Results will be declared on May 23.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UP Panchayat Election 2021: Allahabad High Court says compensation offered is less, must be at least Rs one crore
2Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as 15th chief minister of Assam; PM Modi congratulates him
3N Rangasamy sworn in as Puducherry Chief Minister for record fourth time; PM Modi congratulates him