Haryana Assembly Election 2019

Fresh from the success in the Lok Sabha elections, the Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party looks to retain Haryana, a politically crucial Hindi heartland state. The BJP government led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar

currently enjoys a comfortable majority in the 90-member Haryana Assembly. In the elections held in 2014, the BJP had pocketed 47 seats, while the Congress was restricted to 15. The INLD of former CM Om Prakash Chautala emerged as the second-largest party in the state, winning 19 seats. While the Congress, which ruled the state between 2005 and 2014, aims to regain power in these elections, the BJP hopes to carry its winning momentum from the Lok Sabha polls. The tenure of the current Assembly ends on November 2.