Gujarat Municipal Election Result 2018 updates: BJP clinches 47 Nagar Palikas, Congress 16

By: |
Updated: February 19, 2018 6:23:22 PM

Gujarat Municipality Election Result 2018 updates: Gujarat Civic Election Result 2018 - both BJP and Congress are neck-in-neck as per early trends after the high-octane assembly elections fight last year.

Gujarat Municipality Election Result 2018Gujarat Municipality Election Result 2018: Counting on for the by-elections

Gujarat Municipality Election Result 2018: After witnessing a high-octane fight between the Congress and the BJP in the Gujarat Legislative Assembly last year, the two rival parties are back in the battle field with the Rajkot Municipal Corporation by-election. The result of one Gujarat Municipality seat and six Rajkot Municipal Corporation seats will be declared today (February 19). The main contenders for the seats that went to byelections on February 17 are the BJP and the Congress.

The counting of votes for the Gujarat Municipality by-election and Rajkot Municipal Corporation by-election 2018 began at 9 AM. The numbers will start coming shortly. A total of 75 municipalities spread across 28 districts of Gujarat had gone to polls while the total number of seats where polling was held is 2116. The total number of wards in these municipalities are 529, as per a PTI report. The early trends are reminiscent of the last year’s assembly elections results as the BJP can be seen leading but the Congress is closely following behind.

Track Updates for Gujarat Municipality Election Result 2018 here:-

6: 15 pm: The final tally shows the BJP continuing its domination. Coming to the figures (as per media reports): – BJP has won 47 and Congress won 16 of 75 Nagarpalikas on Monday. NCP won 1 and BSP 1 and (in) 6 no one got majority and independents got 4.

5: 34 pm: Media reports claim that on six seats, no candidate got majority.  Four seats were won by Independents and two by others.

4: 35 pm: Notably, BJP currently rules 59 of the 75 municipal corporations in the state.

4: 14 pm: Going by The Indian Express report, the BJP has won 44 municipalities while its rival Congress has won 13 so far.

3: 10 pm: BJP wins Vadnagar, Kheralu and Vijapur Nagar Palika in Mehsana district.

2: 20 pm: BJP won Anand’s Vallabh Vidyanagar Municipality by bagging all 24 seats in six wards, The Indian Express reports.

1: 30 pm: Last Gujarat Municipal Elections (2013) Tally:-
Out of the total 1905 seats,
BJP- 1144
Congress- 449
NCP- 16
BSP- 13
SP- 2
Independent- 272
others- 9

1: 10 pm: Dahod had recorded the highest voter turnout of 76.67 per cent while Rajkot had the lowest turnout of 50.17 per cent during the polls held on Saturday.

12: 53 pm: Media reports claim that BJP retained Kalavad and Jamjodhpur municipalities in Jamnagar district and Karamsad Municipality in Kheda district.

12: 30 pm: As per media reports, the BJP has so far, won 806 seats in various municipalities while the Congress has bagged 453 seats.

12: 04 pm: In a big jolt to the BJP, Congress scores a thumping win in Rajula municipality in Amreli district. The party ousts the saffron party by winning 27 out of 28 seats.

11: 52 am: As per reports, BJP wins 27 out of 28 seats in Vadnagar Nagarpalika. It is worth mentioning here that Vadnagar is the hometown of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

11: 40 am: Meanwhile, BJP announced candidates for UP & Bihar By-Polls: KS Patel from Phoolpur & Upendra Shukla from Gorakhpur (UP), Rinky Pandey from Bhabua assembly & Pradeep Singh from Araria LS seat in Bihar.

11: 26 am: Let’s also take a look at the score board after the Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017:-

BJP – 99 (49.1% vote share)
Congress – 77 (41.1% vote share)
NCP – 1 (0.6% vote share)
Bharatiya Tribal Party – 1 (0.7% vote share)
Independents – 3 (4.3% vote share)

11: 20 am: The Congress has won one ward and leading in the other in Mehmedabad municipality in Kheda district, reports The Indian Express.

11:12 am: As per ANI, BJP leading in 37 municipalities and Congress leading in 26 municipalities

11: 05 am: Congress wins from ward no 5 of Kalavad Nagarpalika in Jamnagar district while the BJP wins from ward no 3 of Vadnagar Nagarpalika.

10: 54 am: TV reports claim that the BJP has won 407 seats in various Nagar Palikas so far while the Congress has bagged 218.

10: 50 am: As per The Indian Express, the saffron party has managed to secure its bastion – Jasdan municipality in Rajkot district by winning 23 seats out of 28.

10: 47 am: It is worth mentioning here that in the recently held state assembly elections BJP retained power by bagging 99 seats while opposition Congress won 77 seats.

10: 40 am: As per TV reports, the result of 20 municipalities has been declared. Out of these 20, the BJP won 11 Nagar Palikas, whereas the Congress bagged 9.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1SEBI steps in to de-stress the stressed, but are the measures taken by the regulator good enough?