Alpesh Thakore Election Result: LIVE UPDATES from Radhanpur seat of Gujarat Assembly

By: |
Updated: December 18, 2017 1:24:24 PM

Alpesh Thakore Election Result: LIVE UPDATES : The counting for Gujarat Assembly Elections Results is underway.

Alpesh Thakore, Jignesh mevani, Election Result, gujarat assembly elections, Congress, bjp, pm Modi,  Radhanpur seat, Gujarat AssemblyGujarat OBC leader Alpesh Thakore. (Facebook)

Alpesh Thakore Election Result: LIVE UPDATES: The counting for Gujarat Assembly Elections Results is underway. The Congress also stitched about a broad social coalition with prominent Patidar, OBC, and Dalit leaders – Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakore and Jigesh Mevani – in its bid to unseat the BJP in power for over two decades. OBC leader Alpesh Thakore, who joined the Congress ahead of polls is fighting from Radhanpur seat. Alpesh comes from Endla village of Ahmedabad district. He is seen as part of a triumvirate that includes Hardik Patel and Jignesh Mevani.

1:21 pm: Alpesh Thakore wins in Radhanpur constituency

10:46 am: Alpesh Thakore is leading

As per the trends available in the first 45 minutes of counting, the BJP is ahead on 12 seats, while the Congress candidates have a slight edge over their BJP opponents in eight constituencies. The elections for 182-seat Assembly were held on December 9 and 14, after an acrimonious campaign, which was dominated by a face-off between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi. In the 2012 elections, the BJP had won 115 seats while the Congress emerged victorious on 61 seats.

The BJP has been in power in the state since 1995, winning consecutive elections in the home state of Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah. The main contestants from the BJP are Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani (Rajkot West), Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel (Mehsana) and state BJP unit president Jitu Vaghani (Bhavnagar West). Besides Alpesh Thakore and Jignesh Mevani, the main contenders from the Congress are Shaktisinh Gohil (Mandvi), Arjun Modhvadia (Porbandar), Siddharth Patel (Dabhoi), and Paresh Dhanai (Amreli).

The two main rival parties also tried to counter each other on social media, as the Congress and its supporters launched the campaign “Vikas Gando Thayo Che” (development has gone crazy), while the BJP launched a counter drive of “I am development, I am Gujarat”.

Follow for all news and analysis on the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Check Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule, Lok Sabha Constituency Details and updates on campaigning by Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter.