Mapusa constituency Assembly election winner 2017: Francisco beats Congress’ Vijay Laxman Bhike

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: Mar 11, 2017 11:44 AM

The fight continues between BJP, AAP, INC, NCP for the 40 members seats of the Goa Legislative Assembly,

Mapusa, Goa Elections 2017, Goa Elections 2017 Mapusa, Goa Elections 2017 results, Goa Elections 2017 Mapusa constituency, Goa Assembly Elections 2017, Goa Elections, Legislative Assembly Elections 2017, Goa Legislative Assembly Elections 2017, Kichha constituency, Bharatiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress, BJP, Congress, AAP, SP, Francisco C. J. A. De Pinto E Souza, Francis D'souzaBJP leader Francis D’souza. (ANI)

Francisco C. J. A. De Pinto E Souza (BJP) has won the Mapusa seat. Francisco beat Congress’ Vijay Laxman Bhike from this seat. The fight was between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Aam Aadmi Paty (AAP), Indian National Congress (INC) and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) for the 40 members seats of the Goa Legislative Assembly, the election for which were conducted on February 4 and the results will be announced on March 11. This is the first time when VVPAT-fitted EVMs were used in the entire state elections and its implementation was the first in the whole country. The term for the current Legislative Assembly will end on March 18 after which the new elected team of members will take hold of old the operations. According to the exit poll’s prediction, BJP has a little edge over other parties.

Number of voters

According to the Election Commission of India data, Mapusa has a total of 25,659 registered voters, out of which 12,755 are male and 12,904 are female.

What are the key issues

Since tourism is the main reason why Goa is so popular, a little more investment in the field will make this constituency flourish both economically and financially.

Who was the winner last time

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Goa Assembly Elections in 2017 by a margin of 10,169 votes. The total voter turnout was 78.94% and Francis D’souza was the candidate from BJP who had won with a total of 14,955 votes followed by Ashish Tulshidas Shirodkar of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) who got a total of 4,786 votes.

Who are the competing candidates

Francisco C. J. A. De Pinto E Souza (BJP), Shraddha Khalap (AAP), Vijay Laxman Bhike (INC) and Sanjay Vithu Barde (NCP).

Why this constituency is important?

The town of Mapusa is important because here lies the centre of Goa’s tourism industry because of its close proximity to many of the tourist-attracting beaches. Apart from Mapusa being a tourist attraction, this constituency is also the home to Goa’s Deputy Chief Minister Francisco C. J. A. De Pinto E Souza and he fights from the same seat.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.