Hung Assembly in Goa; BJP, Congress at mercy of MGP, GFP

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: Mar 11, 2017 7:32 PM

While the saffron party is 7 short of a majority, the Congress needs 3 more to form govenrment.

Hung Assemmbly in Goa; BJP, Congress on mercy of MGP, GFBHung Assemmbly in Goa; BJP, Congress on mercy of MGP, GFB

With no single party getting clear mandate, the state of Goa is likely to head for a hung Legislative Assembly. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party’s tally has fell to 13 seats from 21 seats, while the Congress has gained a major lead of seven seats from its earlier number of 9, taking it tally to 17 seats. While the saffron party is 8 short of a majority, the Congress needs 4 more to form the government. Speaking on the results, Defence minister Manohar Parrikar has said that state has delivered a fractured mandate and BJP’s welcomes people’s madate. The newly formed Goa Forward Party (GFP), floated just a year ago, emerged a force to reckon with, winning three seats – Fatorda, Siolim and Saligao. GFP candidates defeated two BJP ministers Dayanand Mandrekar (Siolim) and Dilip Parulekar (Saligao). While the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party won in three constituencies, but lost two sitting seats Ponda — represented by Lavoo Mamlatdar — and Priol from where party President Dipak Dhavalikar was elected last time. The party retained Madkai, where its leader Sudin Dhavalikar won with a margin of more than 10,000 votes. It also won Pernem where its candidate Manohar Asgaonkar defeated BJP Minister Rajendra Arlekar and Sanvordem where its nominee Dipak Pawaskar trounced BJP’s sitting MLA Ganesh Gaonkar.

Watch | Election Results 2017: Pernem’s MLA & BJP Leader Rajendra Arlekar Taken Out Of Counting Centre In Goa

The tale is further twisted, as Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), which had walked out of the alliance with the BJP just ahead of the elections, had earlier that it may support the saffron party. After Subhash Veligkar-led out outfit announced re-merger with RSS, the party indicated it may go back to the BJP if it emerged as the single largest party.

Also Read | Goa election results 2017: Full list of constituencies and winning candidates

Some of the local MGP leaders had earlier said that party might go with BJP if needed. The pollsters in the state had expected the BJP to emerge as the single largest party. However, the party is trailing Congress by 5 seats. Even it gets the support of three MLAs from MGP its number would reach 14. On the other hand, Goa Forward Party with three seats might negotiate with Congress with 17 seats taking the number to 21, 1 ahead of what is required.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.