Goa Assembly Election Results 2017: Lalu Prasad Yadav raps Congress, says it ‘could not stake claim to form government’

Underlining that ‘mandate is fractured’, the former Bihar Chief Minister said, “they were able to elect a legislative leader.”

lalu prasad yadav, manohar parrikar cm, goa cm, Goa elections, Goa election results, Manohar Parrikar, defence minister Manohar Parrikar, Goa news, Nitin Gadkari, BJP, Congress, Manohar Parrikar as Goa CM, India news, Goa, goa assembly elections, goa assembly elections 2017, Manohar Parrikar, goa Manohar Parrikar, Congress goa, financial express news
Underlining that 'mandate is fractured', the former Bihar Chief Minister said, "they were able to elect a legislative leader." (ANI image)

RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav on Monday took a jibe at Congress, saying it “could not stake claim to form government” in Goa, according to a report. Underlining that ‘mandate is fractured’, the former Bihar Chief Minister said, “they were able to elect a legislative leader.” His statement comes after BJP had pulled off a coup and staked the claim to form the next government in Goa in coalition with local outfits and independents under Manohar Parrikar, despite being a runner-up behind the Congress. Senior Congress leader P. Chidambaram this morning tore into BJP saying the party is “stealing elections in Goa and Manipur.” “A party that comes second has no right to form the Government,” the former Union Finance Minister tweeted.

Capping the day of fast-paced developments, Goa Governor Mridula Sinha last night appointed Parrikar, the BJP Legislature Party leader, as the chief minister and asked him to prove majority on floor of House within 15 days of taking oath. In evening, the BJP members led by the incumbent Defence Minister called on the Governor and formally staked the government formation claim. The BJP has enlisted the support of two independents, three members each of the Goa Forward Party (GFP) and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP).

Watch this video

Though the lone NCP member Churchill Alemao has also backed the coalition, he is yet to submit the formal letter of support. “Governor Mridula Sinha has appointed Manohar Parrikar, the Leader of the Goa BJP legislature party, as the chief minister of Goa,” Rupesh Kumar Thakur, Secretary to Governor has stated in the press note issued here tonight. Parrikar has submitted evidence before Governor, the support of 13 MLAs of BJP, 3 MLAs of MGP, 3 of Goa Forward party and two independent MLAs thus having a total strength of 21 MLAs in the 40-member assembly, it stated.

“The Governor has asked Parrikar to prove majority in the Legislative Assembly session within 15 days after administration of oath of office,” the note said. The BJP, which has bagged 13 seats, four less than the Congress which has emerged as the single largest party, stole the march on its rival which has failed to muster the numbers to capture power. In the 40-member House, the Congress has 17 MLAs, followed by the BJP with 13, MGP (3), GFP (3), NCP (1) and Independents (3).

(With agency inputs)

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express Telegram Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.