Delhi Election 2020 Highlights: BJP leaders should immediately visit Shaheen Bagh, says Arvind Kejriwal

By: |
Updated: January 27, 2020 5:32:02 pm

Delhi Assembly Election 2020: Polling in Delhi will take place across all 70 constituencies on February 8. The results will be announced on February 11.

Delhi Assembly Election 2020 Live UpdatesArvind Kejriwal to holds roadshows in Narela and Bawana on Monday. (File Photo)

Delhi Election 2020: With Delhi Assembly elections round the corner, leaders of all the three main political parties — Aam Aadmi Party, BJP and Congress — will be campaigning in different parts of the national capital to woo the voters. Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal hels roadshows in Narela, Bawana and Gandhi Nagar on Monday. From BJP, Union Home Minister Amit Shah addressed rallies in Rithala and Janakpuri to seek the public support for his party. On Sunday, Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari promised that the saffron party will install 60 smog towers if it forms the government. He also asserted that the AAP government has failed and the people of Delhi were ready to support the saffron party with the slogan, “Bahut Ho Gaya Dilli Ka Nuksaan, Ab BJP Karegi Iska Samadhan”. The AAP led by Arvind Kejriwal has promised free bus services for students and 24-hour drinking water supply. The Chief Minister has guaranteed basic facilities for unauthorised colonies in the capital and to reduce air pollution by three times. Meanwhile, several aspiring candidates who wanted to contest the polls in the national capital have approached the Delhi High Court after being denied permission to file nomination papers. The process to file nomination papers ended on January 21. The Delhi Legislative Assembly has 70 seats. Polling will take place on February 8 and results will be announced on February 11. The current term of the Assembly will expire on February 22.

Read More

Live Blog


    17:30 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Kejriwal's roadshow in Gandhinagar

    Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal holds a roadshow in Gandhinagar area.

    15:19 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Arvind Kejriwal's roadshow in Bawana

    Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal held a roadshow in Bawana area of Delhi ahead of the Assembly elections. Delhi will go to polls on Feb 8.

    14:42 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Sanjay Gehlot of Akhil Bharatiya Safai Majdoor Sangh joins AAP

    Sanjay Gehlot, Akhil Bharatiya Safai Majdoor Sangh state chief, joins AAP in presence of CM Arvind Kejriwal. 'He has been fighting for rights of sanitation workers&staged strikes against our govt. He has realized that AAP can ensure that workers get their rights,' Kejriwal said.

    14:27 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Arvind Kejriwal on Shaheen Bagh protest

    Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal said that people are facing problems due to closed road in Shaheen Bagh. BJP doesn't want that the road should open and is doing dirty politics. BJP leaders should immediately visit Shaheen Bagh, talk and get the road re-opened.

    13:05 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Alka Lamba’s immovable property more than doubled in the last 5 years

    The value of Congress leader Alka Lamba’s immovable property has more than doubled in the last five years, according to the election affidavit she filed. She is contesting from Chandni Chowk.

    12:58 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Delhi Assembly Election 2020: RJD in fray from four seats

    The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is contesting elections in an alliance with the Congress party in Delhi. The party is contesting from four seats. The seats and candidates are: Pramod Tyagi (Burari), Riyazuddin Khan (Kirari), Shakti Kumar Bishnoi (Uttam Nagar) and Niram Kumar Singh (Palam).

    12:31 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    AAP councillor joins Congress

    AAP's Ajmeri Gate Councillor Rakesh Kumar has joined the Congress party along with his supporters. Kumar was denied a ticket by AAP to contest Assembly elections. He has alleged that Arvind Kejriwal was an opportunist and deliberately kept quiet on the issue of the amended citizenship law and the NRC.

    11:54 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Delhi Election 2020: SAD exits poll fray

    The Shiromani Akali Dal said it will not contest the elections as it was asked by its ally BJP to change its stand on the Citizenship Amendment Act, which it has vehemently refused.

    11:35 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Who is contesting against Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi?

    The Congress party has fielded Romesh Sabharwal from New Delhi seat against Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal while the BJP has given ticket to Sunil Yadav, state Yuva Morcha President.

    11:23 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Delhi Assembly Election Opinion Poll

    Arvind Kejriwal is predicted to come back as chief minister of Delhi. The ruling AAP is expected to win 59 of 70 seats with close to 55 per cent vote share, according to opinion polls conducted by ABP. CLICK HERE TO READ MORE

    10:52 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Kejriwal supporting those who want to break India: JP Nadda

    Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president JP Nadda on Monday launched a blistering attack on Delhi Chief Minister and AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal for supporting the 'tukde-tukde' gang. Nadda in a series of tweets, alleged that it was Kejriwal who didn't clear the files to prosecute who raised anti-India slogans inside the JNU campus. CLICK HERE TO READ MORE

    10:49 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Delhi Election 2020: JP Nadda to address three rallies

    Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president JP Nadda will address three public meetings in Narayan Vihar around 4 PM, Delhi Cantt at 5:30 PM and Moti Nagar at 7 PM. 

    10:48 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Delhi Election 2020: Amit Shah to hold two rallies today

    From BJP, Union Home Minister Amit Shah will hold two public rallies. The first rally will take place at 4 PM in Rithala. Shah will address the second rally at 6 PM in Janakpuri.

    10:43 (IST)27 Jan 2020
    Arvind Kejriwal holds roadshow in Narela

    Chief Minister of Delhi and Aam Aadmi Party Chief Arvind Kejriwal holds roadshow in Narela.

    In the previous Assembly elections held in 2015, the Aam Aadmi Party led by Arvind Kejriwal had won 67 of the 70 seats. The BJP had won just three seats while the Congress drew a blank.