Lok Sabha Election: BJP may drop 2-3 sitting Lok Sabha members in Delhi

By: |
Updated: March 22, 2019 4:25 PM

BJP Lok Sabha Election Candidate List: BJP may replace two to three sitting MPs in Delhi as the party is facing a strong challenge from ruling AAP that has already announced candidates for all 7 seats.

BJP, Lok Sabha Candidate List, Delhi Lok Sabha Election, Delhi BJP CandidatesBJP Lok Sabha Candidate List for Delhi.

BJP Lok Sabha Election Candidate List: BJP has not announced its candidates for seven Lok Sabha seats in national capital Delhi. Though the party was expected to begin announcing candidates for Lok Sabha elections from Monday but it was deferred owing to the death of Goa chief minister and senior BJP leader Manohar Parrikar.

The party has been grappling with the issue of selection of candidates in Delhi for last one year, conducting several surveys and internal assessments. Aam Admi Party has already taken the lead over the Congress and BJP as it has announced the name of its seventh candidate on Sunday. The party had already announced six names on March 2.

The BJP has delayed the announcement as the party is facing a strong challenge from ruling Aam Admi Party which had swept the state in Delhi assembly elections in 2015.

Sources in the party say that the party may drop two-three sitting MPs in Delhi to retain the maximum number of Lok Sabha seats in the national capital.

“The party may not give tickets to two or three sitting Lok Sabha members in Delhi,” said a BJP leader requesting not to be named.

However, it may not be easy for the party to replace sitting MPs at this stage as it will be difficult for a new candidate to build the momentum just before the elections. On the other hand, the party does not want to risk losing any seat because of poor performance and anti-incumbency factor against its sitting MPs in Delhi.

ALSO READ | Can the opposition neutralise PM Modi’s electoral advantage after Balakot bombings, Abhinandan’s return

“We have two distinct opinions in the party. One is that the party should replace three sitting MPs that have not done performed well in the eyes of public. However, another opinion is that it’s bit late to change any candidate as a new candidate will not have enough time to ensure the party’s victory,” a party ticket hopeful told Financial Express Online requesting not to be named.

It’s important for the BJP to carefully select its candidates in Delhi as any electoral reverses in the national capital may signal declining acceptance of the party at national level too.

ALSO READ | Lok Sabha Election dates clash with Ramzan, here is why it will not impact voting

All three contestants – BJP, the Congress and Aam Admi Party – have conducted their surveys to assess the popularity and winnability of their candidates. The Congress and Aam Admi Party have claimed victory for their candidates in their internal assessments.

Riding on an unprecedented wave in favour of its Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, BJP had won all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi in 2014, completely wiping out the opposition. However, recovering from this massive setback, Arvind Kejriwal led Aam Admi Party completely demolished the BJP in 2015 Assembly election by winning 67 of total 70 Vidhan Sabha seats in Delhi.

Delhi is set to see a three corner contest between the BJP, the Congress and ruling Aam Admi Party. The polling in all the seven Lok Sabha seats will take place on May 12 and results will be declared on May 23.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1UP Panchayat Election 2021: Allahabad High Court says compensation offered is less, must be at least Rs one crore
2Himanta Biswa Sarma takes oath as 15th chief minister of Assam; PM Modi congratulates him
3N Rangasamy sworn in as Puducherry Chief Minister for record fourth time; PM Modi congratulates him