BIMSTEC leaders to attend Modi’s oath-taking ceremony on May 30

By: |
Updated: May 27, 2019 9:39:26 PM

Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister at 7 PM on Thursday. Last time, Prime Minister had invited SAARC leaders to his swearing-in ceremony.

Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister at 7 PM on Thursday. (PTI)

BIMSTEC leaders will attend Narendra Modi’s oath-taking ceremony on May 30, news agency ANI reported. The move is in line with the government’s focus on its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy. BIMSTEC is a regional organization comprising seven member states lying in the littoral and adjacent areas of the Bay of Bengal constituting a contiguous regional unity. The organisation constitutes seven member states: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, and Thailand.

Kyrgyz Republic President Sooronbay Jeenbekov and Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth have also been invited to the ceremony. Sooronbay is the current Chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization. Jugnauth was the Chief Guest at this year’s Pravasi Bhartiya Divas.

Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister at 7 PM on Thursday. Last time, Prime Minister had invited all the SAARC leaders to his swearing-in ceremony. All the SAARC leaders including then Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina won’t be able to attend the swearing-in as she will be on a three-nation foreign visit. Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Huq will attend the oath-taking ceremony as the senior-most Cabinet member of the Bangladesh government. Hasina could not attend the previous swearing-in ceremony due to foreign visits even then.

According to reports, Tamil stars Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan have been invited for the swearing-in of Modi. Haasan made political debut in the recently concluded polls but could win any seat. Rajinikanth too has announced his political entry but he will contest the assembly election in Tamil Nadu.

When he took oath as the Prime minister in 2014, Modi had invited all SAARC leaders. Modi had also sent an invite to then Pakistan prime minister Nawaz Sharif. THe swearing-in ceremony was held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan and was attended by around 2,000 people.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1The unexpected factor behind Modi’s election victory that even BJP could not predict
2Guna’s giant killer KP Yadav was once insulted over selfie with Jyotiraditya Scindia
3Modi in Varanasi Highlights: There is chemistry beyond poll arithmetic, says PM on BJP’s UP win