Bihar candidate list 2019: Party-wise list of candidates contesting from 40 constituencies

By: |
Updated: March 27, 2019 1:39 PM

Bihar Lok Sabha Seat 2019: The main contest in Bihar is between the BJP-JD(U)-LJP combine and grand alliance of opposition parties. The state has 40 Lok Sabha seats. Elections will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19.

bihar election dates 2019, bihar election candidate list 2019The main contest in Bihar is between JD(U)-BJP-LJP combine and grand alliance led by RJD.

Bihar Candidate List 2019, Lok Sabha Seat in Bihar: The main contest in Bihar is between the NDA of BJP-JD(U)-LJP and the grand alliance led by Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD. Besides RJD, the Congress, NCP, HAM of Jitan Ram Manjhi, RLSP of Upendra Kushwaha, Vikashil Insan Party (VIP) of Mukesh Sahni and Left are other constituents of the Mahagathbandhan.

As per the seat-sharing agreement in the Grand Alliance, the RJD will contest 20 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats and the Congress 9. The RLSP of Upendra Kushwaha will put up candidates in five seats, HAM of Jitan Ram Manjhi and Vikasshil Insan Party (VIP) of Mukesh Sahni VIP in 3 seats each. The RJD will give one seat out of its quota to the CPI-ML. No seats were given to the CPI and CPI(M). It was also made clear that grand alliance will not back former Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union president Kanhaiya Kumar’s candidature from Begusarai.

In the NDA, both the BJP and JD(U) will contest an equal number of seats (17 each) while LJP of Ram Vilas Paswan will field six candidates.

Bihar is one of the three states where the Election Commission of India has announced Lok Sabha elections spread over seven phases. The polling for the 40 parliamentary seats will begin on April 11 and culminate on May 19. Results will be declared on May 23.

Here is the full schedule of elections in Bihar and list of candidates from NDA and grand alliance:

1. Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha – Baidyanath Mahto (JD-U)

2. Paschim Champaran Lok Sabha – Sanjay Jaiswal (BJP)

3. Purvi Champaran Lok Sabha – Radha Mohan Singh (BJP)

4. Seohar Lok Sabha – Rama Devi (BJP)

5. Sitamarhi Lok Sabha – Varun Kumar (JD-U)

6. Madhubani Lok Sabha – Ashok Kumar Yadav (BJP)

7. Jhanjharpur Lok Sabha – Ram Preet Mandal (JD-U)

8. Supaul Lok Sabha – Kamat (JD-U)

9. Araria Lok Sabha – Pradeep Singh (BJP)

10. Kishanganj Lok Sabha – Mahmood Ashraf (JD-U)

11. Katihar Lok Sabha – Dulal Chand Goswami (JD-U)

12. Purnia Lok Sabha – Santosh Kumar Kushwaha (JD-U)

13. Madhepura Lok Sabha – Dinesh Chandra Yadav (JD-U)

14. Darbhanga Lok Sabha – Gopal Thakur (BJP)

15. Muzzafarpur Lok Sabha – Ajay Nishad (BJP)

16. Vaishali Lok Sabha – Veena Devi (LJP)

17. Gopalganj Lok Sabha – Alok Kumar Suman (JD-U)

18. Siwan Lok Sabha – Kavita Singh (JD-U)

19. Maharajganj Lok Sabha – Janardan Singh Sigriwal (BJP)

20. Saran Lok Sbha – Rajiv Pratap Rudy (BJP)

21. Hajipur Lok Sabha – Pashupati Kumar Paras (LJP)

22. Ujiyarpur Lok Sabha – Nityanand Rai (BJP) | Ajay Kumar CPI(M)

23. Samastipur Lok Sabha – Ramchandra Paswan (LJP)

24. Begusarai Lok Sabha – Giriraj Singh (BJP)

25. Khagaria Lok Sabha – LJP to announce name later

26. Bhagalpur Lok Sabha – Ajay Kumar Mandal (JD-U)

27. Banka Lok Sabha – Giridhari Yadav (JDU)

28. Munger Lok Sabha – Rajeev Ranjan Singh alias Lallan Singh (JD-U)

29. Nalanda Lok Sabha – Kaushlendra Kumar (JD-U)

30. Patna Sahib Lok Sabha – Ravi Shankar Prasad

31. Patliputra Lok Sabha – Ram Kripal Yadav (BJP)

32. Ara Lok Sabha – RK Singh (BJP)

33. Buxar Lok Sabha – Ashwini Kumar Choubey (BJP)

34. Sasaram Lok Sabha – Chhedi Paswan (BJP)

35. Karakat Lok Sabha – Mahabali Singh (JD-U)

36. Jehanabad Lok Sabha – Chandeshwar Prasad (JD-U)

37. Aurangabad Lok Sabha – Sushil Kumar Singh (BJP)

38. Gaya Lok Sabha – Vijay Kumar Manjhi (JD-U) | Jitan Ram Manjhi (HAM)

39. Nawada Lok Sabha – Chandan Kumar (LJP)

40. Jamui Lok Sabha – Chirag paswan (LJP)


In the previous general elections held in 2014, the BJP, LJP and RLSP of Upendra Kushwaha had contested elections together. The alliance had stumped the JD(U), RJD and Congress by bagging 32 seats. But this time, the RLSP has quit the NDA and joined ranks with grand alliance due to differences with JD(U) national president and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. Nitish’s party had in 2014 contested the elections solo and won just two seats. He had quit the NDA in 2013 after BJP named Narendra Modi as its prime ministerial candidate. The JD(U) had expressed reservation over his name and walked out of the alliance, ending an over two-decade-old partnership. In the 2015 Assembly polls, the JD(U), RJD and Congress had contested elections together and gained absolute majority with 151 seats. However, the government lasted for 20 months as Nitish dissolved the alliance due to a series of corruption charges against his government and deterioration in the law and order situation. He reunited with the BJP and formed the government.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Kingmaker posse or splitting Muslim votes? What Asaduddin Owaisi really stands to gain in UP elections
2UP Election 2022: CM Yogi Adityanath hits back after Rahul Gandhi’s ‘hate’ jibe
3UP Elections 2022: Congress exudes confidence of winning 100 seats, says miracles do happen in politics