Bhopal Lok Sabha result: Sadhvi Pragya wins battle of prestige against Digvijaya Singh

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 10:01:39 PM

Bhopal election result 2019: The election battle in Madhya Pradesh's capital had become more about religion than politics. Congress fielded its veteran leader Digvijaya Singh against BJP's Sadhvi Pragya.

Bhopal election result live, lok sabha election results, Bhopal Lok Sabha Election Result 2019, Bhopal election results, Bhopal Lok Sabha Election Result, Bhopal 2019 results, Bhopal 2019 lok sabha results, sadhvi pragya, digvijay singhCongress has fielded its veteran leader Digvijaya Singh against BJP’s Sadhvi Pragya from Bhopal. (File Photo)

Bhopal Lok Sabha Election Result 2019: Sadhvi Pragya has taken a massive lead against Digvijaya Singh from Bhopal.  She is set to defeat Singh by over 3.5 lakh votes. The capital city in the Hindi heartland went to polls on May 12. Though the BSP too had fielded its candidate from this seat, the main contest was limited between the BJP and Congress.

 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Full Coverage
The fight between Sadhvi Pragya and Digvijaya Singh was less about politics and more about religion which the BJP claimed the senior Congress leader and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister tried to tarnish by coning and peddling terms like “Hindu Terror” or “Saffron Terror”. Sadhvi Pragya, who is a key accused in Malegaon blast and is currently out on bail, had admitted that she was fighting for Rashtra (nation) and Dharm (religion).

02: 45 pm: Sadhvi Pragya maintains a healthy lead in Bhopal.

Current Position

Digvijaya Singh: 307531

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur: 474756

01:15 pm: Sadhvi Pragya takes a massive lead of over 1.4 lakh votes.
11:45 am: BJP leader Pragya Singh Thakur is leading over Congress’ Digvijay Singh by 44,222 votes in Bhopal.
8:35 am: Sadhvi Pragya takes an early lead over Digvijaya Singh in Bhopal
8:00 am: Counting begins – The counting has begun in the constituency.
In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the BJP won this seat by over 3.5 lakh votes. The saffron party’s Alok Sanjar got 7,14,178 votes, while Congress leader PC Sharma could secure just 3,43,482. Bhopal is the stronghold of the BJP which has never lost this seat since 1989. BJP bigwigs like Uma Bharti and Kailash Chandra have represented this seat in the past. This is the first time that Digvijaya Singh is contesting from Bhopal.
The BJP was also in power in the state for the last 15 years until it lost to the Congress in 2018. The saffron party under Shivraj Singh Chouhan got 109 seats and the grand old party led by Kamal Nath managed to get 113 of 230 assembly seats. Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency has eight assembly segments — Berasia, Bhopal Uttar, Narela, Bhopal Dakshin-Paschim, Bhopal Madhya, Govindpura, Huzur, and Sehore.
In the last state election, the saffron party won five —Berasia, Narela, Govindpura, Huzur, and Sehor — assembly seats and the Congress emerged victorious in three seats —  Bhopal Uttar, Bhopal Dakshin-Paschim, and Bhopal Madhya. Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency covers the entire district and part of Sehore district. As per the last Census, the Bhopal district had a population of 23,71,061 people.  According to the Election Commission, the total electorate in this parliamentary constituency were 1,461,714 in 2009.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Modi is a stuntman and not statesman: Congress
2Arun Jaitley calls Congress party ‘cry baby’, says Model code of conduct cannot encroach right to free speech
3Baghpat Lok Sabha election result 2019 : Satyapal Singh gets better of RLD’s Jayant Chaudhary in close fight