Bangalore South election result LIVE: Tejasvi Surya knocks down BK Hariprasad to become youngest parliamentarian in 17th Lok Sabha

By: |
Updated: May 23, 2019 9:40:21 PM

Bangalore South Election Result: BJP's young gun Tejasvi Surya is up against Congress old guard BK Hariprasad. Who will emerge victorious? Decision on May 23.

Tejasvi Surya, Bengaluru South election result live, Bengaluru election resultBJP’s Bangalore South candidate Tejasvi Surya. (File Photo/PTI)

Bangalore South Election Result: Bharatiya Janata Party’s young blood Tejasvi Surya has defeated Congress old guard BK Hariprasad by over 3.3 lakh votes from Bangalore South. He is the youngest parliamentarian in the 17th Lok Sabha. Tejasvi got 736605 votes with 62.2 per cent vote share. He defeated Hariprasad who got 407372 votes with 34.33 per cent.

Before Tejasvi, late BJP leader Ananth Kumar had won Bangalore South for six consecutive terms from 1996 to 2014. Kumar died last year forcing the saffron party to look for another candidate to represent this BJP bastion.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Full Coverage

The saffron party surprised many by picking 28-year-old Surya who is also the general secretary of the state Yuva Morcha. Surya was pitted against senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP BK Hariprasad who had also contested against Ananth Kumar in 1999 but lost by over 65,000 votes.


03:45 pm: Tejasvi Surya has taken an unassailable lead against senior Congress leader BK Hariprasad.



12:30 am: Tejasvi Surya takes a huge lead of over 1.5 lakh against BK Hariprasad.


8:05 AM | Counting begins

Counting has begun. Here, the contest is between young blood Tejasvi Surya and senior Congress leader BK Hariprasad.

In 2014, the Congress fielded Infosys co-founder Nandan Nilekani to challenge then five-time MP Ananth Kumar. Nilekani was also the man behind world’s largest biometric identification programme — Aadhaar. However, he too failed to revive the grand old party’s fortune. Kumar defeated Nilekani by over 2.25 lakh votes. The BJP leader got 6,33,816 votes whereas the Congressman had to settle with just 4,05,241.

Bangalore South is one of the 28 Lok Sabha Parliamentary constituencies in Karnataka which is being ruled by a coalition government of Congress-JDS. This parliamentary constituency has eight assembly segments: Govindraj Nagar, Vijay Nagar, Chickpet, Basavanagudi, Padmanaba Nagar, BTM Layout, Jayanagar and Bommanahalli.

The saffron party won four seats and the grand old party three in the last assembly elections in 2018. As per the Election Commission report of 2009, Bangalore South has 2,031,030 electorates — 1,071,202 males and 959,828 females. This seat went to polls in the second phase on April 18. The total turnout was recorded at 53.47 per cent, two per cent lower than what was recorded in 2014.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.