Bellary Lok Sabha Election result 2019 Live: BJP’s Y Devendrappa wins by a margin of 55,707 votes

By: |
Updated: May 24, 2019 2:24:44 PM

Bellary election result: Y Devendrappa wins back the seat for BJP.

Election result live, Lok Sabha Election 2019 resultsBellary seat was once considered to BJP’s stronghold, but at present is represented by the Congress in Lok Sabha. (File Photo)

Bellary election result 2019 : Y Devendrappa won the seat by the margin of 55,707 votes. While he bagged 6,16,388 his nearest rival Congress’ V S Ugrappa got 5,60,681 votes. The later had won the seat in 2018 by election. He had defeated his nearest rival J Shantha of the BJP by a margin of 2,43,161 votes. While Ugrappa got 6,28,365 votes, his nearest rival polled 3,85,204 votes. The Bellary constituency is one of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Full Coverage

The by election was necessitated after the then sitting MP B Sriramulu vacated the seat to contest the Assembly elections. It was then that BJP fielded J Shantha from the constituency. Winning the seat in 2018 came as a shot in the arm for the Congress as Bellary was considered as a stronghold of the BJP since 2004. Bellary is also home to mining barons Reddy brothers.

This time, Ugrappa is up against BJP’s Y Devendrappa who quit the Congress on grounds that his services were not recognised by the party. Interestingly, his wife continues to be with the Congress and is a Zilla Panchayat member from Arsikere in Harapanahalli taluk.

While the Congress will want to maintain its winning momentum, BJP faces the challenge to regain its lost stronghold. It is the same seat from where former Congress president Sonia Gandhi defeated BJP leader and current External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj. Bellary was her second seat apart from Amethi . She defeated Swaraj by a margin of 56,100 votes. While Gandhi got 4,14,650 votes, Sushma garnered 3,58,550 votes. In the by election that followed after Gandhi decided to leave this seat and retain Amethi, Congress’ Kolur Basavanagowda got better of BJP’s KS Veerbhadrappa by a margin of 96,020 votes. Basavanagowda received 2,59,851 votes against Veerbhadrappa’s 1,63,861 votes.

11:26 am: VS Ugrappa of Congress from Bellary is leading in the constituency at the moment.

10:00 am: Counting underway in coonstituency.

7:56 am: Counting to begin soon. Main contenders from this constituency are VS Ugrappa of Congress, BJP’s Y Devendrappa among others

The constituency has eight Assembly segments which are Hadagalli, Hagaribommanahalli, Vijayanagara, Kampli, Bellary, Bellary City, Sandur and Kudligi. The constituency came into being in 1952. Tekur Subramanyam of the Congress was its first representative in Lok Sabha.

Elections were held in Bellary during the third phase on April 23. In 2014, the number of voters was 1,48,7945.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Modi is a stuntman and not statesman: Congress
2Arun Jaitley calls Congress party ‘cry baby’, says Model code of conduct cannot encroach right to free speech
3Baghpat Lok Sabha election result 2019 : Satyapal Singh gets better of RLD’s Jayant Chaudhary in close fight