Ballia election result: BJP’s Virendra Singh Mast wins, defeats Samajwadi Party leader Sanatan Pandey by 15,000 votes

By: |
Updated: May 24, 2019 4:40 PM

The Ballia Lok Sabha seat was won by BJP leader Virendra Singh Mast. He defeated Samajwadi Party leader Sanatan Pandey by a margin of 15,000 votes.

Ballia Lok Sabha election result, Ballia result



Ballia Lok Sabha election result 2019: Bharatiya Janata Party leader Virendra Singh Mast, a Rajput by caste and party’s Kisan Morcha national president, won from Ballia Lok Sabha seat. He defeated Samajwadi Party leader Sanatan Pandey, who is a Brahmin, by a margin of 15,519 votes.

According to Election Commission of India data, while Virendra Singh secured 4,69,114 votes, his nearest SP rival Pandey pocketed 4,53,595 votes.

The Ballia Lok Sabha seat is among the 80 parliamentary seats in Uttar Pradesh. Situated on the bank of river Ganga, the constituency is well known for giving the country its 11th Prime Minister in the form of Chandra Shekhar. A Rajput by caste, he served as the Prime Minister between November 1990 and June 1991, heading a coalition government of Samajwadi Janata Party and Congress. The constituency comprises five assembly segments – Phephana, Ballia Nagar, Bairia, Zahoorabad and Mohammadabad. Barring Zahoorabad, all the four seats are currently held by BJP. The Zahoorabad seat is held by BJP’s former ally Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party.

ALSO READ: Click here for latest updates on Lok Sabha Elections 2019

After the death of Chandra Shekhar, his son Neeraj Shekhar contested the bypolls on a Samajwadi Party ticket and won from here. In 2009 again, the Samajwadi Party fielded Neeraj Shekhar who defeated BSP’s Sangram Singh Yadav. However, in 2014, Neeraj Shekhar lost the seat to BJP’s Bharat Singh, a three-time BJP MLA, by over 1.50 lakh votes in the Modi wave.

The constituency has a strong dominance of Rajput and Brahmin voters who comprise 5 lakh each of the total 17.68 registered voters. Ballia is considered a stronghold of the Samajwadi Party because of the demography. However, Chandra Shekhar never contested elections on a Samajwadi Party ticket though he represented the seat for a record eight times since 1977. Barring 1984 elections, he won every election held since then. In 1977, he had successfully contested on a Bharatiya Lok Dal ticket. In 1980, 1989 and 1991, he was a Janata Party MP from Ballia. In the next elections held in 1996, Chandra Shekhar contested on a Samta Party ticket. He then contested elections in 1998, 1999 and 2004 on a Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya). He died in July 2007.

In 2014, the Ballia Lok Sabha constituency had seen a 53.28% voter turnout. This time, the constituency went to the polls in the seventh and last phase and recorded 53.51% polling.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, Check out latest IPO News, Best Performing IPOs, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Financial Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with the latest Biz news and updates.

Next Stories
1Bharat Biotech’s pre-submission meeting for Covaxin EUL with WHO on June 23
2Delhi Mayoral Elections 2021 Live: New mayors, deputy mayors of NDMC, SDMC elected unopposed
3Uttar Pradesh Zila Panchayat Chairperson Election 2021: State Election Commission announces poll schedule – check details here