Baghpat Lok Sabha election result 2019 : Satyapal Singh gets better of RLD’s Jayant Chaudhary in close fight

By: |
Updated: May 24, 2019 3:45:45 PM

Baghpat Lok Sabha election result: Satyapal Singh won by the margin of 23,502 votes.

baghpat election result live, jayant chaudhary result live, baghpat result liveRashtriya Lok Dal leader Jayant Chaudhary. (Express Photo by Abhinav Saha/File)

Baghpat Lok Sabha election result: BJP candidate and Union Minister Satyapal Singh defeated his nearest rival RLD’s Jayant Chaudhary by the margin of 23,502 votes. Last time, he had won the seat by the magin of 2,09,866. While he got 5,25,789, his nearest rival received 5,02,287 votes.The region went to polls during the first of the seven phases of the Lok Sabha polls on April 11 with Ghaziabad and Noida. Union Minister and BJP leader Satyapal Singh is the current Member of Parliament from the Baghpat.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Full Coverage

A post-graduate in Chemistry from Digambar Jain College, Baraut, he won the 2014 Lok Sabha polls by defeating his nearest rival Ghulam Mohammed of Samajwadi Party. Singh had won by the margin of 209, 821 votes against his nearest rival in the Narendra Modi wave. While he got 4,23,475 votes, Mohammed polled 2,13,654. The biggest shocker of the election was RLD supremo Ajit Singh bagging the third position with 1,99,516 votes.

This time, however, the road to parliament may not be that easy for the BJP candidate, with RLD fielding Ajit Singh’s son Jayant Chaudhary. While PSP (L) has fielded Mohammed Mohkam, Bittu Hazari is contesting on a National Lokmat Party ticket. This time, the RLD is contesting the Lok Sabha elections in alliance with SP and BSP. While BSP is contesting in 38 seats, SP is fighting on 37 and RLD on 3 seats. The alliance decided not to put up candidates in Raebareli and Amethi where Sonia Gandhi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi are contesting.

9:48 am: Union Minister Dr Satyapal Singh is currently leading in the constituency. He is seeking his re election fromn Baghpat.

8:22 am: Counting underway. Union Minister Satyapal Singh is in the fray here.

While Ajit Singh may have stood a distant third in 2014, he represented the constituency in the Lower House of the Parliament both in 2004 and 2009. In 2004, while he defeated BSP’s Aulad Ali by a margin of 2,20,638 votes, in 2009 he got better of his nearest BSP rival Mukesh Sharma by the margin of 63,027 votes. In 1980 and 1984, former prime minister Charn Singh had contested from the constituency. In 1980, while fighting on JNP(S) ticket he had defeated

Baghpat constituency covers five Assembly segments of Siwalkhas, Chhaprauli, Baraut, Baghpat and Modi Nagar. As per estimates, the constituency comprises of 3.30 lakh Jats, 3.70 lakh Muslims,1 lakh Brahmins and 1.60 lakh Gurjars. Last time, the registered voters from Baghpat were 15,05,175. Of them, 8,50,681 were males and 6,54,494 were females.

While the seventh phase elections ended on May 19 across the country, results will be out on May 23.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Arvind Kejriwal chief minister of Delhi or leader of dharnas: Yogi Adityanath
2BJP demands action against AIMIM MLA, party workers for “attempting to orchestrate a communal problem”
3Arvind Kejriwal “falsely accused” Hans Raj Hans of converting to Islam, alleges BJP leader Vijay Goel