Assembly elections 2017: EC orders Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, 3 other state CEOs to complete counting arrangements by 7th March

By: | Published: March 5, 2017 4:47 PM

The scheduled date for for the counting of votes in all the five poll-bound states is March 11.

The Election Commission of India. (PTI)

The Election Commission has directed the Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) in the five poll-bound states of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Goa and Punjab to complete arrangements regarding counting of votes by March 7.

According to an official statement, the poll panel also wanted fool-proof security at all 157 counting centres, reports IANS. The scheduled date for for the counting of votes in all the five poll-bound states is March 11. Among the 157 counting centres, Uttar Pradesh has 75 centres, Punjab 53, Uttarakhand 15, Manipur 12 and Goa 2.

The Election Commission (EC) has also issued detailed instructions related to the storage and safety arrangements of the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), the appointment of counting staff and agents and the counting procedures.

You may also like to watch this video:

The EC also said that all the counting halls, must be wire mesh to segregate the counting agents from the counting personnel and EVMs. The Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) have been directed to complete all the counting arrangements by the night of March 7.

The entire process of counting, that includes the movement of EVMs, will be filmed. Voting for seventh and final round of polling in Uttar Pradesh will take place on March 8. The North-Eastern state of Manipur also goes for voting on March 8.

Read here the latest general election 2019 news, live coverage and full election schedule for Lok Sabha Election 2019 on Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter to get all the updates on lok sabha election 2019.

Switch to Hindi Edition