Bihar by-election results updates: RJD retains Araria, Jehanabad; BJP gets Bhabhua as consolation

By: |
New Delhi | Updated: March 14, 2018 6:15:47 PM

Bihar by-election result live updates: The BJP has been defeated by the RJD on the Jehanabad seat and is set to be defeated by Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD in Araria Lok Sabha seats.

Araria, Bihar by-election result live updateBihar by-election result updates: This is the first test of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar after his party JD(U) had decided to break away from Grand Alliance and form government with BJP.

Bihar by-election result updates: The BJP has been defeated by the RJD on the Jehanabad seat and on the Araria Lok Sabha seats. However, the saffron party managed to clinch the Bhabhua seat. Araria witnessed a moderate voter turnout of 57 percent. Meanwhile the BJP suffered a shocking defeat in the UP bypolls losing Gorakhpur and Phulpur seats.

Track updates of Bihar by-election result

6: 11 PM: RJD wins by Araria Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 61988 votes. RJD secured 509334 votes and BJP got 447346 votes.

5: 15 PM: Bihar has given sympathy vote this time. I’d like to thank all those who’ve supported us. We welcome the mandate of people. We will certainly win the elections of 2019 under the leadership of PM Modi & BJP President Amit Shah: Nityanand Rai, BJP Bihar President

5: 05 PM: BJP should stop working for its face value & instead put in efforts to work for the people. That’s the only way in which they can improve or else they will face the same result in the 2019 elections as they have in this bypoll: Jitan Ram Manjhi on Bihar bypoll results

4: 37 PM: Jo log kehte the ki Lalu ji khatam ho gaye hain aaj hum unko keh sakte hain ki Lalu ji ek vichaar dhara ka naam hai. Bihar ki janta ko iss jeet ke liye dhanyawaad deta hun aur saath hi Manjhi ji ko bhi dhanyawaad deta hun: Tejashwi Yadav on Bihar bypolls results

4: 15 PM: Rinki Rani Pandey thanks public for the victory, promises to complete the developmental works initiated by her husband, as per ETV report.

3: 47 PM: BJP secures a victory on Bhabhua seat. BJP’s Rinki Rani Pandey defeats Congress candidate Shambhu Patel by a margin of over 15,000 votes, as per ETV Bihar.

3: 40 PM: RJD candidate Krishna Kumar Mohan defeats BJP’s Abhiram Sharma by a margin of 35,036 votes on the Jehanabad seat of Bihar, as per ETV Bihar.

2:30 PM: West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee has congratulated Lalu Prasad Yadav over RJD’s performance in Araria and Jehanabad.

1:52 PM: In Bhabua Assembly, BJP has received 40,501 votes. RJD candidate was leading in Jehanabad and has received 52,609 votes.

1:47 PM: In Araria Lok Sabha, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD was leading by 23,187 over BJP. The RJD candidate has got 3,33,050 votes whereas BJP has received 3,09,863 votes.

11:50 AM: In Araria Lok Sabha seat, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD is leading over BJP candidate.

11:05 AM: In Jehanabad Assembly constituency, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD candidate is leading by over 15,000 votes.

10:57 AM: In Bhabua assembly constituency, BJP was leading by 2714 votes. On the other hand, RJD candidate is ahead in Jehanabad.

10:40 AM: In Araria Lok Sabha seat,  RJD has received 55,334 votes. BJP has managed to bag 58,225 votes.

10:23 AM: BJP candidate was leading by 4500 in Araria Lok Sabha seat after second round of counting.

10:20 AM: Bihar Assembly by-polls will also be announced today. RJD candidate is leading in Jehanabad after second round of counting where as BJP is leading in Bhabua seat.

9:32 AM: Close fight is going in Bihar. BJP candidate is leading in Kaimur and RJD is ahead in Jehanabad after first round of counting.

9:30 AM: Initial trends show that BJP candidate is leading in RJD stroghold in Araria Lok Sabha seat.

Also Read: UP, Gorakhpur, Phulpur by-elections results Live

8:28 AM: Counting of votes has begun in Araria Lok Sabha seat. As per early trends, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD is leading over BJP.

8:00 AM: Counting of votes will begin in Araria, Bihar

7:50 AM: Take a look at the preparations ahead of the counting of votes in Araria, Bihar

7:45 AM: The Araria seat is considered as a stronghold of RJD. If Nitish Kumar JD(U) and BJP can win here, it will prove that Kumar’s popularity is intact.

The results are the first test of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar after his party JD(U) had decided to break away from Grand Alliance and form government with BJP. Last time, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD had won the seat. The polling was necessiated after demise of RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. The polling was held in Araria on Sunday.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Lok Sabha bypolls in UP: 43 pct turnout in Gorakhpur; 37.39 pct in Phulpur
2Congress likely to announce candidates for Karnataka polls by month-end: Siddaramaiah
3Meghalaya election: Rahul Gandhi slams BJP for government formation, says party ‘usurped power using proxy’