Anantnag election result: PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti loses to National Conference leader Husnain Masoodi

By: |
Updated: May 24, 2019 4:30:10 PM

The Election Commission conducted elections in militancy-hit Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency in three different phases. The constituency witnessed a total turnout of just 9%. NC's Hasnain Masoodi defeated PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti and Congress' Ghulam Ahmad Mir.

Anantnag election result, Anantnag live, Anantnag lok sabha electionPDP leader Mehbooba Mufti was defeated by Husnain Masoodi of NC.

Anantnag Lok Sabha election result 2019: National Conference’s Husnain Masoodi won from Anantnag Lok Sabha seat. Masoodi defeated Congress state president Ghulam Ahmad Mir by a margin of 6,676 votes. PDP chief and former Jammu and Kashmir CM Mehbooba Mufti cam a distant third. According to ECI data, Masoodi secured 40,180 votes. While Mir got 33,504 votes, Mufti pocketed 30,524 votes.

In 2014, PDP leader Mehbooba Mufti had won from here, defeating NC’s Hasnain Masoodi and Congress’ Ghulam Ahmad Mir by 65,417 votes. However, she vacated the seat after becoming the Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir in 2016. The bypolls on the seat couldn’t be held due to security concerns. The total percentage of votes polled in 2014 was 28.84%.

The Anantnag Lok Sabha seat is one of the six parliamentary seats in Jammu and Kashmir. This south Kashmir constituency comprises four districts — Anantnag, Kulgam, Shopian and Pulwama. It has following assembly segments — Tral, Pampore, Pulwama, Rajpora, Wachi, Shopian, Noorabad, Kulgam, Homshalibug, Anantnag, Devsar, Doru, Kokarnag, Shangas, Bijbehara and Pahalgam.

ALSO READ: Click here for latest updates on Lok Sabha Elections 2019

This time, the Election Commission decided to conducted elections in three phases — April 23, April 29 and May 6 and reduce the polling timing by two hours. The decision was taken in the wake of terror threats during the elections.

According to Election Commission data, polling in Anantnag was largely peaceful but the turnout couldn’t even reach double figures. The overall turnout in the constituency after all the three phases was 9%. The constituency has over 13 lakh registered voters. In the first phase of the polling on April 23, Anantnag saw the highest turnout at 13.61%. The second phase on April 29 witnessed 10.32% voting and the third phase on May 6 recorded 3% polling.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.