Amritsar Lok Sabha election result 2019: Congress’ GS Aujla hands shocking defeat to Union Minister Hardeep Puri

By: |
Updated: May 24, 2019 3:59:40 PM

Amritsar Lok Sabha election result: Union Minister Hardeep Puri lost the election by the margin of 99,626 votes

amritsar election result live, amritsar lok sabha election result live, amritsar resultBJP has fielded Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri from Amritsar. (File Photo)

Amritsar Lok Sabha election result: Congress candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla of the Congress defeated his nearest rival and Union Minister and BJP candidate Hardeep Puri by the margin of 99,626 votes in Amritsar. While the winner got 4,45,032 votes, the minister received 3,45,406 votes. Polling in the constituency was held on May 19, the last of the seven phases of Lok Sabha election 2019.

The seat is currently represented by Aujla. He had won the bypoll in 2016, defeating his nearest rival BJP’s Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina by 1,97,491 votes. AAP’s Upkar Singh Sandhu was in the third position securing 1,49,160. The by-poll was necessitated after Amarinder Singh had to resign in 2016 to begin his new role as the chief minister of Punjab. He had earlier defeated BJP candidate and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley from the constituency in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

9:11 am: Congress candidate Gurjit Singh Aujla ahead at the moment. Union Minister and BJP candidate Hardeep Singh Puri trailing

8:34 am: Counting underway. Union Minister and BJP leader Hardeep Singh in fray here.

Before Amarinder won the seat in 2014, Amritsar was BJP-dominated seat with Navjot Singh Sidhu, who was with the saffron party then, won from there on three occasions – 2004, 2007 (bypoll) and 2009. However, in 2014, BJP replaced him with Jaitley as its candidate from the constituency. The Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency came into being in 1952. It has 9 Assembly constituencies which are Ajnala, Raja Sansi, Majitha, Amritsar North, Amritsar West, Amritsar Central, Amritsar East, Amritsar South, Attari. Amritsar is also close to Wagah Border in Pakistan.

Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency consists of a total number of 14,77, 262 voters. According to the Election Commission, of the total voters, 7,79,164 are male and 6,98,098 are female. As per the 2011 Census, Amritsar is the second most populous city of Punjab with a population of 24,90,656. The city is also famous for the Golden Temple, also known as Harmandir Sahib as well as the Jalianwala Bagh.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Next Stories
1Jobs in demand in India: Bullet-proofing experts, political slogan writers win big in Lok Sabha polls
2Setback for Opposition: Supreme Court rejects review plea by 21 parties on increasing VVPAT verification from 5% to 50%
3Election Commission dismisses Smriti Irani’s Amethi booth capturing charge