Modified DBT to be launched in 10 Himachal Pradesh, 6 Punjab districts

By: |
Chandigarh | Published: November 14, 2014 8:38:12 PM

The modified Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) for LPG consumers being launched...

The modified Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) for LPG consumers being launched from tomorrow would cover 10 districts of Himachal Pradesh and 6 in Punjab.

Executive Director of Indian Oil Corporation Limited for Punjab, Himachal and Jammu and Kashmir, P.K.Das said here today that six districts that would be covered in Punjab are Barnala, Faridkot, Fategarh Sahib, Jalan dhar, Ludhiana and Nawanshahar. P.K.Das said that beginning tomorrow, LPG consumers in these districts will start getting cash subsidy so that they can buy the cooking fuel at market price.

Shailendera Kumar Sharma, General Manager(LPG) clarified that the “The government has comprehensively reviewed the scheme and after examining the difficulties faced by the consumer substantively modified the scheme prior to launch. The modified DBTL scheme is being re-launched in on November 15 in the 1st Phase in some of the districts and in the rest of
the country on January 1, 2015.”

Cash equivalent to the difference between the current subsidised rate and the market price will be transferred to the bank account of a consumer the moment he or she makes the first booking for a cylinder after joining the scheme.  He said that consumers who had joined the scheme earlier and had received cash subsidy in their bank accounts do not need to do anything further.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Switch to Hindi Edition