The Advertising Club announces 54th edition of ABBY Awards

The awards will be held as part of the Goafest from May 24- May 26, 2023; aims to strengthen partnership with the ‘The One Show’

The ABBY Awards has introduced new sub-categories in Digital Technology, Mobile, Design, and Audio Technology
The ABBY Awards has introduced new sub-categories in Digital Technology, Mobile, Design, and Audio Technology

The Advertising Club has announced the 54th edition of ABBY Awards, the South Asia’s Gold standard, which has been recognizing creative excellence in advertising for over five decades. Held over three days, the ABBY Awards, are scheduled to take place on the 24th, 25th, and 26th of May during Goafest at Grand Hyatt, Bambolim, Goa.
The awards for Creativity, Media, and Communication have once again partnered with The One Show, the world’s most prestigious award program, to upheave the global standards of judging, jury selection, and transparency to the already revered and celebrated ABBY Awards.

As per the announcement by The Advertising Club, the Awards Governing Committee for the 54th edition of ABBYs will include names such as Partha Sinha, president, Times of India Group and president of The Advertising Club, Rana Barua, Group CEO, Havas Group India and chairman, The ABBYs Award Governing Council, Ajay Kakar, managing committee member, The Advertising Club and co-chair, The ABBYs Award Governing Council, Ajay Chandwani, managing committee member, The Advertising Club, Shashi Sinha, CEO-India, IPG Mediabrands , Malcolm Raphael, senior vice-president, The Times of India Group, Prasanth Kumar, CEO, Group M South Asia , Jaideep Gandhi, founder, Another Idea , Mohit Joshi, managing director, Havas Media , Anupriya Acharya, CEO- South Asia, Publicis Groupe , Sam Balsara, chairman and managing director, Madison Communications and Rohit Ohri, group chairman and CEO, FCB Ulka Advertising.

Speaking on the initiative, Partha Sinha, president, Times of India Group and president, The Advertising Club, said, “With ABBYs, we at The Advertising Club, owe it to the industry and colleagues to present an award show that is authentic, transparent, and of global standards. For 54 years, ABBYs have been pivotal in recognizing creativity and innovation in India’s communication industry. To elevate its presence on the global stage, we continue to augment its significance, and therefore associating with ‘The One Show’ once again provides the necessary impetus. We look forward to witnessing a lot of innovative work this year that will go on to live up to the repute of being the most coveted award property in South Asia.”

Furthermore, the list of international judges will be announced by The One Show after the process of selection of both Indian and international juries.
The Abby Awards will represent the South Asia region that includes India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Pakistan and has been doing so since 2004.
The ABBY Awards has also introduced new sub-categories in Digital Technology, Mobile, Design, and Audio Technology based on feedback from the creative professionals of the industry in the annual town hall conducted by The Advertising Club.

Also, the Radio category has now evolved into the Audio category with the introduction of Content, the new sub-categories are in Use of Music, Sound Design, Script, Casting, Performance, Audio Technology, Voice Activation, Branded Content, Podcasts, and Content placement.

Rana Barua, Group CEO, Havas Group India and Chairman, The ABBYs Award Governing Council, and Ajay Kakar, Managing Committee Member, The Advertising Club & Co-chair, The ABBYs Award Governing Council said, “In addition to being a significant platform for young creative professionals in the industry to exhibit their ground-breaking work accomplished throughout the year, the ABBY Awards have consistently been the most anticipated event at Goafest. We look forward to seeing outstanding creative work being recognized and appreciated at ABBYs this year.”

Speaking on the association, Kevin Swanepoel, CEO of The One Club for Creativity, said, “Our association with the ABBY Awards, last year, helped in pushing the creative envelope much further. As the world’s premier non-profit advertising and design awards program, The One Show takes pride in continuing the partnership with The Advertising Club. The Ad Club’s vision to make ABBYs the gold standard in recognizing creative excellence is in alignment with The One Show and we look forward to awarding the most deserving campaigns. I am excited to attend the awards this year and look forward to witnessing the most deserving campaigns make it big with an ABBY.”

Prasanth Kumar – President, Advertising Agencies Association of India, added, “Over the years, the Advertising Club’s ABBYs has recognized creative work that has had the potential to become global successes. The Abby Awards at Goafest are the biggest and the most sought-after recognition in the advertising, media, and marketing industry. We are delighted to co-host the ABBY Awards and look forward to some thrilling wins.”

The Abby Awards will be a part of the Goafest 2023 and will mark the fourteenth Abby Awards at Goafest.

Follow us on TwitterInstagramLinkedIn, Facebook

Get live Share Market updates and latest India News and business news on Financial Express. Download Financial Express App for latest business news.

First published on: 30-03-2023 at 11:14 IST