Formula One Mexican GP 2017: Lewis Hamilton wins fourth Formula One championship to become the most successful British driver in Formula One history!

The silver arrow pilot pulled out record win after a hair-raising collision with rival Sebastian Vettel to finish in ninth place and seal the championship.

By:Published: October 30, 2017 3:38 AM

Lewis Hamilton has secured his place as the Formula One World Champion for the fourth time at the Mexican GP. This after, he and rival Sebastien Vettel ended up in a bit of an aggressive collision in the first lap of the race. This championship under his belt makes Hamilton the most successful British Formula One driver in history edging past the legendary Sir Jackie Stewart’s three titles. Interestingly despite his best efforts Lewis Hamilton only finished 9th in the race in Mexico City. The Mexican GP however, was won by Red Bull’s supernova rookie Max Verstappen, his third overall race win in the premier series.

The race was not amiss of drama, with Lewis Hamilton question his team as to whether Vettel’s collision, which took out the brits tyre, was, in fact, a premeditated attempt to keep him off the podium. He was heard on the radio saying “Did he hit me deliberately?”. Race steward, however, saw no reason to further investigate, the two drivers who were quite obviously pushing each other to the ragged edge. As a result, Sebastien Vettel found himself in fourth place, unable to secure the points necessary for him to hold any hope of winning the championship. The race end saw Hamilton let loose his emotions taking a lap of the track with a Union Jack in hand. He was even heard sending out a genuine note of appreciation to his team saying over the radio “I’d like to say a big thanks to everyone in this team, what you’ve done the past couple of years is just remarkable. I’m just so grateful for all your hard work this year. God bless you.”

This victory puts Hamilton on level with Vettel and frenchman Alain Prost both of whom have four championship standings. Ahead of him only remains, Juan Manuel Fangio’s five-time record and Michael Schumachers record-breaking seven championship titles. The crowning jewel of the 2017 season in which he has won 9 GPs, after falling behind Rosso brigades Vettel, by almost 25 points.

Image Source: Alfredo ESTRELLA/AFP Photo

Get live Stock Prices from BSE, NSE, US Market and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Latest Auto News