Formula One drivers’ salaries revised for 2017 season

Lewis Hamilton, triple F1 World Champion, has extended his deal with Mercedes to the end of 2018

By:Published: February 16, 2017 11:49:27 AM
Triple F1 World Champion Lewis HamiltonTriple F1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton

Nico Rosberg’s abrupt decision over retiring from Formula One was an eyebrow raising moment in the motorsport industry and hence it initiated some driver changes which would further go on to affect their salaries.

Many like Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso and Sergio Perez are still a part of a two-three year deal which would expire by the end of this season, says a report on grandprix247.

On the other hand, many are currently on a one year contract, like new Williams driver Vatteri Bottas, Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean, Jolyon Palmer, Daniil Kvyat, Carlos Sainz, Esteban Ocon, Stoffel Vandoorne, Marcus Ericsson, Pascal Wehrlein, Lance Stroll, Kevin Magnussen and Felipe Massa.

Daniel Ricciardo’s contract with Red Bull expires by the end of 2018, and his team-mate Max Verstappen’s multi-year contract with the team is also believed to run out by the end of next year.

Lewis Hamilton, triple F1 World Champion, has extended his deal with Mercedes to the end of 2018.

So far, Alonso is on top of the list with the highest salary, however Hamilton and Vettel could surpass him as the two have performance based bonuses.

Bottas received a good boost post his move to Mercedes and is liable for at least $5 million, plus bonuses that are part of the one year deal, should he perform well.

As Massa joined back with Williams, his earnings now stand at $5 million. Hulkenberg’s shift to Renault will bag him $3 million.

Vandoorne comes out to be the highest paid rookie, even ahead of Ocon and Lance Stroll. Lance’s father is believed to be dishing out over $30 million for Lance’s debut in Formula One.

Formula One Drivers 2017 Salaries:

Fernando Alonso (McLaren)  – $40 million including bonuses (2015 to 2017)

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – $31 million excluding bonuses (2016 to 2018)

Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) – $30 million excluding bonuses (2015 to 2017)

Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) – $8.5 million including bonuses (2017)

Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) – $7 million excluding bonuses (2017)

Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) – $6.5 million excluding bonuses (2017 to 2018)

Felipe Massa (Williams) – $5 million (2017)

Nico Hulkenberg (Renault F1) – $3 million (2017)

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – $3 million excluding bonuses (2016 to 2018)

Sergio Perez (Force India) – $2.5 million (2017)

Romain Grosjean (Haas F1) – $1.5 million (2017)

Kevin Magnussen (Haas F1) – $1 million (2017)

Jolyon Palmer (Renault F1) – $1 million (2017)

Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) – $750,000 (2017)

Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) – $750,000 (2017)

Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren) – $300,000 excluding bonuses (2017)

Marcus Ericsson (Sauber) – $285,000 (2017)

Esteban Ocon (Force India) – $185,000 (2017)

Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber) – $150,000 (2017)

Lance Stroll (Williams) – Unknown (2017)

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Latest Auto News