Sherco-TVS Factory Rally team announced for Merzouga Rally

Sherco-TVS to organise Merzouga Rally which will see riders who have qualified for the Dakar Challenge last month.

By: | Updated: April 27, 2017 11:29 AM
Dakar Challenge winner Abdul Wahid Tanveer to debut along with Aravind KP, Juan Pedrero & Adrien Metge Dakar Challenge winner Abdul Wahid Tanveer to debut along with Aravind KP, Juan Pedrero & Adrien Metge

Sherco-TVS Factory Rally team has announced their rider line-up for the Merzouga Rally 2017 in Morocco. The winner of Dakar Challenge series category of India Bajaj event last month, Abdul Wahid Tanveer will debut along with other Dakar riders, namely; Aravind KP, Juna Pedrero and Adrien Metge. Abdul Wahid Tanveer, after winning the Dakar Challenge has now qualified for Merzouga Rally.

The 8th edition of Merzouga Rally will be a 6-day event that will commence on 7th May, 2017 in Merzouga. The rally will have six stages this year and all the riders will be evaluated on technical and physical levels. All the finishers will have the assurance of being able to enter the Dakar. The main aim of Merzouga Rally is to be a must do the event in the preparation for the official teams and a springboard for the amateurs who want to try their luck on the adventure that is the Dakar.

Also Read: Production ready TVS Akula 310 spied, launch in mid-2017

The Sherco-TVS riders will be riding the RTR 450 Dakar motorcycle that has been specially tuned to meet the rally route requirements. The RTR 450 Dakar motorcycles weigh just 135 kg and is equipped with 4 stroke DOHC and 4 valve engine that produces around 65 hp of maximum. The front suspension has also been tuned to provide improved traction on all road conditions like sand dunes. The rear suspension, on the other hand, is multi adjustable. The company has also made changed in other parts of the motorcycles like high-velocity ports, redesigned cam shaft, modified crankshaft and a re-tuned ECM that will offer better performance.

Get live Stock Prices from BSE and NSE and latest NAV, portfolio of Mutual Funds, calculate your tax by Income Tax Calculator, know market’s Top Gainers, Top Losers & Best Equity Funds. Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.