TRS sweeps Telangana by-polls

Written by Press Trust of India | Hyderabad | Updated: Aug 1 2010, 03:37am hrs
Faced with defeat in the by-elections to 12 Assembly constituencies in the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh, the ruling Congress and the principal opposition, Telugu Desam Party, said the Telangana Rashtra Samitis victory was very much expected.

Chief minister K Rosaiah issued a one-line statement saying: We respect peoples verdict. APCC president D Srinivas, who lost to his BJP rival Y Lakshmi Narayana in Nizamabad Urban, said very strong Telangana sentiment worked in the TRS favour, enabling it to sweep the by-polls.

The happenings subsequent to December 9, 2009, when the Centre first made a statement on the separate statehood issue, have worked in favour of the TRS. Added to it, the sympathy factor worked in favour of those who resigned from their posts, leading to their re-election, Srinivas said.

Replying to a question, the PCC chief said there was no change in the Congress stand on the Telangana issue. We are still committed to Telangana, he said.

The TRS has won Sirpur, Chennur and Mancherial, Siddipet and Dharmapuri constituencies among the 12 Assembly segments in the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh where bypolls were held on July 27.