TCS, GE, Saudi firm open all-female biz centre in Saudi Arabia

Written by feBureau | Mumbai | Updated: Sep 26 2013, 14:07pm hrs
BPO workersCollaboration of TCS, GE and Aramco supports Saudi Arabia's localisation strategies to diversify the region?s economy.
Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), GE and Saudi Aramco have together launched a first all-female business process services center in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. The centre will be staffed only by Saudi females with TCS and GE owning 76% and 24% equity, respectively. The centre will initially serve Saudi Aramco and GE as anchor clients.

The collaboration of the three companies supports Saudi Arabias localisation strategies to diversify the regions economy and enable the growth of a viable employment sector. The partnership will eventually scale up the new venture to create up to 3,000 jobs for Saudi professional females.

The centre brings a unique business model to Saudi Arabia, and is set to become a training ground for building new capabilities, skills and careers for women in Saudi. It will be employing graduates in the areas of finance, accounting, HR management and supply chain management services.

The Tata Group has a long history of encouraging women to achieve their potential and contribute to the community and we are delighted to work with Saudi Aramco and GE to help provide careers for women in the kingdom and enable them to contribute to its economic progress. Saudi Arabia is a focus market for the Tata Group where we have built strong partnerships and this ambitious initiative is an example of our commitment to this market, said Cyrus Mistry, chairman of Tata Group.

The centre will provide support knowledge and industry-specific services. After the initial roll out, GE and TCS will also work with Saudi universities and educational institutions to launch specialised training programs to achieve further job creation goals.

TCS delivers business process services from 20 service locations in over 10 countries including China, Philippines, India, Hungary, United Kingdom, Chile, Ecuador, Uruguay, Mexico and the US.