Soren takes oath, Jharkhand gets sixth CM in 8 yrs

Ranchi, Aug 27 | Updated: Aug 29 2008, 05:05am hrs
JMM president Shibu Soren was sworn in on Wednesday by Governor Syed Sibtey Razi as the sixth chief minister of Jharkhand, a state formed eight years ago. Soren was sworn in alongwith 11 ministers at a ceremony held on the historic Morahbadi ground.

This is the third government in the state in three years of tenure of the present House which ends in March, 2010.

The 11 who took oath are Sudhir Mahto, Nalin Soren, Dulal Bhuyan (all JMM), Bandhu Tirkey, Joba Manjhi (United Goan Democratic Party), Kamlesh Singh (NCP), Enos Ekka (Jharkhand Party), Aparna Sengupta (Forward Bloc) and independent MLAs Stephen Marandi, Harinarain Rai and Bhanu Pratap Sahi.

This is the first time two women members Manjhi and Sengupta have found a place in the Jharkhand ministry.

The 64-year-old Soren took over the reins for the second time heading a UPA coalition within three years of tenure of the ongoing Assembly. The Arjun Munda-led NDA government and the Madhu Koda-led UPA government were the other dispensations which had taken charge after the March 2005 Assembly elections.

Munda served as chief minister twice, while Babulal Marandi became CM soon after Jharkhand's creation on November 15, 2000.