Senior Shiv Sena MPs want pie in Narendra Modi government

Written by PTI | Mumbai | Updated: May 18 2014, 03:02am hrs
With formation of Narendra Modi government at Centre imminent, some senior MPs of Shiv Sena are going vocal about their ministerial ambitions even though contours of new government are yet to be finalised.

The seniors, who have won fifth and sixth consecutive terms, are expecting a Cabinet berth, on the basis of their "contribution" to the party.

All 18 newly-elected MPs of Shiv Sena today met their party president Uddhav Thackeray and dedicated the victory to party supremo (late) Bal Thackeray.

"I have been elected for the sixth term. I hope that Shiv Sena chief will repose confidence in me and will give me a ministry at Centre," party MP Anant Gite told reporters after the meeting.

Gite has defeated NCP stalwart Sunil Tatkare to retain his seat, though by a slender margin.

Anandrao Adsul, who retained his Amravati seat in Vidarbha by trouncing his NCP rival Navneet Kaur Rana, was more forthcoming when asked about his expectations.

"I would like to handle the Finance and Railways as I have knowledge about these two departments," Adsul said.

Another senior MP of Shiv Sena is Bhavna Gawli who represents Yavatmal-Washim constituency.

The Shiv Sena-BJP combine collectively won 42 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, with the Uddhav Thackeray-led party recording its biggest electoral victory.

BJP and Shiv Sena have won 23 and 18 seats, respectively, with the one seat going to the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatna of Raju Shetty, which is one of the NDA constituents.

Shiv Sena has bagged Mumbai South, Mumbai South Central and Mumbai North West seats out of six constituencies, wherein party nominees defeated Congress biggies Milind Deora, Eknath Gaikwad and Gurudas Kamat.