Sachin Tendulkar dismissal embroiled in 'umpiring controversy' in Hyderabad Test

Written by Agencies | New Delhi | Updated: Mar 5 2013, 00:45am hrs
Sachin TendulkarSachin Tendulkar (IE)
After looking to have wrested his demons into submission by getting back his form for the Australian series, Sachin Tendulkar was left fuming on being given out for what seemed like a clear umpiring gaffe by Marais Erasmus, if not a blunder in the ongoing India vs Australia Hyderabad Test - fortunately for his team, the visitors have been pegged on the backfoot and his dismissal did not prove too costly.

The veteran right-hander appeared to have ended up on the wrong end of the stick when he was declared out caught behind after a 15-ball 7.

Umpire initially did not give Sachin out on appeals by Australian fielders, but then overturned it after repeated entreaties by bowler James Pattinson and the short mid-wicket fielder.

Shaping to play a length delivery down the leg side, Sachin Tendulkar missed the ball, which was pouched by Wade. Pattinson appeals hard and long with the support of short mid-wicket fielder. Displeased at the initial reaction of the umpire in snubbing his appeal, Pattinson let him know his mind, which is clearly a violation of rules.

However, the umpire succumbed to the pressure and asked the third umpire to adjudicate!

TV replays went on to show a nick and the verdict was 'out'. Umpire thereafter raises his finger, sending Sachin walking forlornly back to the pavilion.

The unfortunate part was that Sachin was shaping up for a fine innings having notched up a great boundary off the previous ball and had played all deliveries with confidence from middle of bat.

What seems likely to have happened is that, deprived of the Decision Review System due to India's steadfast opposition, umpires could be taking advantage of an anomaly in referral rules.

What made the situation a trifle complex was the way onfield umpires Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus handled it - third umpire S Ravi, according to the rules, could only decide on whether the catch was taken cleanly.

But the process before coming to the conclusion is such that Ravi could also suggest whether the batsman nicked the delivery or not.

This might have helped the onfield umpires get rid of any doubts on whether the batsman nicked the delivery.

Similar drama had unfolded on the opening day as well when the Indians appealed for a catch of Moises Henriques.

The umpire, Erasmus again, referred it to the third umpire, a move which revealed that Henriques' bat or glove had not touched the ball at all. Erasmus ruled in favour of the Australian after consulting Ravi.

But today Tendulkar was not so lucky as after a long chat with Ravi, Erasmus raised the dreaded finger.

The dismissal has raised questions about the referral laws even though the end result was a correct decision.