Reconstituted NAC has 2 new faces

Written by fe Bureau | New Delhi | Updated: Jun 30 2012, 08:35am hrs
The Sonia Gandhi-led National Advisory Council (NAC) has reconstituted by dropping three members and inducting two new faces.

Plan panel member Mihir Shah and founder of Bhopal-based NGO Action for Social Advancement Ashis Mondal have been inducted in the council for a period of one year. The two have replaced agriculture scientist MS Swaminathan, bureaucrat- turned-activist Harsh Mander and academician Madhav Gadgil.

The council now has 12 members (including the chairperson) unlike 14 members previously. Due to the changes, the councils meeting that was slated for Friday has been postponed to July 6.

Nine other members of the NAC NC Saxena, Narendra Jadhav, Pramod Tandon, Aruna Roy, A K Shiva Kumar, Deep Joshi, Anu Aga, Farah Naqvi and Mirai Chatterjee have been renominated. The tenure of the members of the reconstituted panel is till May 31, 2013. Jean Dreze, who was appointed in 2009, had quit after the panel had sent its recommendations to the government on the Food Security Bill.

Currently, the NAC is deliberating on issues like watershed development, climate-smart agriculture and improving sex ratio at birth.