PSEB shortlists 8 candidates for oil sector top posts

New Delhi, January 23: | Updated: Jan 24 2002, 05:30am hrs
The Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) has shortlisted eight candidates for four top posts in the oil sector. After conducting two-day interviews for the post of chairman and managing directors of the Indian Oil Corporation (IOC), Hindustan Petroleum Corporation (HPCL), Bharat Petroleum Corporation (BPCL) and Oil India (OIL), PSEB has shortlisted director (planning and business development), IOC, MS Ramachandran and director (finance), IOC, P Sugavanam for the post of chairman Indian Oil.

The two shortlisted candidates for BPCL chairmanship are director (marketing), BPCL, S Behuria and director (finance), Ashok Sinha.

For the post of chairman of HPCL, PSEB has shortlisted the name of chairman, IBP Co, SN Mathur and director, BPCL, MP Lal.

Managing director of Numaligarh Refinery (NRL), RK Datta and chief general manager, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), AK Mehra have been shortlisted for the post of chairman of OIL.

The shortlisting of these eight candidates have been done from a list of 29 candidates who were earlier in the fray for these four top posts in IOC, HPCL, BPCL and OIL, falling vacant with the incumbents reaching the age of superannuation later this year.

These names have been forwarded by Public Enterprises Selection Board to the petroleum ministry and would now be sent to appointment committee of cabinet after vigilance clearance of each candidate.