Prof. C S Seshadri to be conferred prestigious Rathindra Puraskar from Visva Bharrati

Written by Businesswire India | Chennai, November 21: | Updated: Nov 24 2008, 16:39pm hrs
Prof. C S Seshadri, Director of the Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI) will receive the Rathindra Puraskar from Visva Bharati University for his outstanding contribution in the field of Physical Science. Prof. C S Seshadri will receive the award from the Honorable Prime Minster Dr. Manmohan Singh at Santiniketans Visva-Bharati University, during their Annual Convocation on 6th December 2008. He will receive the award along with a prize valued at Rs. 25,000/-.

The Rathindra Puraskar is given every year in memory of the Late Rathindranath Tagore (the eldest son of Gurudeva Rabindranath Tagore) in accordance with the appropriate selection committee. The Visva-Bharati University, founded by the Late Rabindranath Tagore, has invited Dr. Amartya Sen to be the Chief Guest of the Convocation, during which 3500 students will receive their degrees and certificates.

Prof. C S Seshadri will receive the award alongside stalwarts like the Former Bhutan King Jigme Sigme Wangchuk, Economist Dr Amlan Dutta, eminent historian Irfan Habib, theatre personality Habib Tanweer, and others.

Prof. C S Seshadri who specializes in Algebraic Geometry & Algebraic Groups is a fellow of the Royal Society, UK. He has also been a member of National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) (Sep. 1986-Aug. 1992), Council of the Indian National Science Academy (1993-94), Executive Committee, International Mathematical Union (IMU) (Jan. 1987-Dec. 1990) and is presently the Director of the Chennai Mathematical Institute.

The Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI), a recognized University by the Central Government, is a centre of excellence for teaching and research in Mathematical sciences. Established in the year 1989, CMI offers Under-graduate and Post-graduate courses in Mathematics, Physics & Computer science.