Power-sharing ratio 60:40, Modi is deputy Bihar CM

New Delhi, Nov 23 | Updated: Nov 24 2005, 05:30am hrs
The power-sharing formula between JD-U and BJP in Bihar will be in the ratio of 60:40, and Bihar BJP president Sushil Kumar Modi will be Bihars new deputy chief minister. Moreover, would-be chief minister Nitish Kumar said that about a dozen ministers from both the NDA parties would be sworn in along with him on Thursday in Patna, with a Cabinet expansion later.

While Mr Kumar was formally elected leader of JD(U) legislature party, Mr Modi was also unanimously elected leader of the BJP legislature party in Patna on Wednesday. Incidentally, both Mr Kumar and Mr Modi are at present Lok Sabha MPs and will have to contest from Assembly seats, which are expected to be vacated by the respective party legislators.

Mr Kumars name was proposed by JD-U MLA from Jokihat Manza Alam and seconded by legislator from Imamganj Uday Narain Chaudhary, whereas BJP vice-president M Venkaiah Naidu announced the election of Mr Modi after a meeting of the legislative party. Mr Naidu, along with party general secretary Arun Jaitley, were deputed as central observers by the partys parliamentary board meeting here, chaired by party president LK Advani.

He said 11-12 ministers belonging to both JD-U and BJP would be sworn in along with him on Thursday and the ministry would be expanded later.

On whether MLAs with criminal background will be accommodated in his ministry, Mr Kumar said, I do not want to speak anything on which party has how many MLAs with dubious antecedents. But I assure you that people will have no complaints about the composition of the government from the very start.