Only Sahgal Left To Take On Kalam For Rashtrapati Bhawan

New Delhi, June 28: | Updated: Jun 29 2002, 05:30am hrs
With the deadline for withdrawal of candidature from the Presidential poll expiring on Friday, only missile technologist Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, supported by the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), Congress, Samajwadi and other parties, and Captain Lakshmi Sahgal, backed by the Left parties are left in the race for the top post.

Only the nomination papers of Dr Kalam and Captain Sahgal were found valid on scrutiny on Wednesday, out of the total 54 nomination papers filed.

While most of the nomination papers were rejected for want of requisite number of names of proposers or seconders or because the security money of Rs 15,000 had not been deposited, one nomination paper was rejected as the signatures of proposers and seconders did not appear to be genuine.

The polling is to be held on July 15 and counting will be taken up on July 18. The election process had begun on June 11 with the Election Commission’s notification calling the election.

The monsoon session of Parliament begins on the day of the polling. Members of Parliament will exercise their vote in Parliament House, though a member may vote in the state capital if he has obtained permission from the Election Commission at least 10 days before the poll. Members of legislative assemblies will vote in their respective state capitals at the places notified by the Commission.