Narendra Modi shakeup ousts Finance Secretary Arvind Mayaram

Written by Press Trust of India | New Delhi | Updated: Oct 16 2014, 23:07pm hrs
Arvind MayaramArvind Mayaram, who has twin roles as both Finance and Economic Affairs secretary, and was appointed by UPA govt, is shifted to Tourism Ministry. (PTI)
Prime Minister Narendra Modi has transferred Arvind Mayaram, the top civil servant at the finance ministry, replacing him with a top official from Rajasthan, Rajiv Mehrishi, that has pushed dramatic free market reforms in recent months.

The transfer was part of the first major shuffle of top civil servants since Narendra Modi took office in May. In all, 20 bureaucrats were moved, many at the level of secretary, the most senior rank in India's civil service.

In orders issued yesterday, Mayaram, a 1978-batch IAS officer belonging to Rajasthan cadre, was made the Tourism Secretary in place of Parvez Dewan on his retirement at month end.

In his place, Rajiv Mehrishi, an IAS officer of the same batch as Mayaram and from the same state, was appointed Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs in the Ministry of Finance.

Ministry of Finance has four secretaries - Economic Affairs, Expenditure, Revenue and Financial Services. The senior most among the four is designated Finance Secretary.

Presently, Ratan P Watal, a 1978 batch IAS officer from Andhra Pradesh is Expenditure Secretary while 1980-batch IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre Gurdial Singh Sandhu is the Financial Services Secretary. Shaktikanta Das, an IAS officer of 1980 batch from Tamil Nadu cadre, is Revenue Secretary.

Mayaram's transfer was part of the first major Secretary-level reshuffle undertaken by Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government.

In all, 20 senior officials were transfered yesterday, many at the level of secretary.

Mehrishi, who was appointed Rajasthan chief secretary in December last year by the Vasundhara Raje Government, was earlier on deputation at the Centre as secretary with the department of fertilisers.

Anil Swarup, a 1981 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, has been appointed as new Coal Secretary. Swarup, who is working in Cabinet Secretariat, will replace S K Srivastava, after his superannuation on October 31.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved appointment of Swarup as Officer on Special Duty in the Ministry of Coal in the rank and pay of Secretary, a press release issued today by the Department of Personnel and Training said.

Alok Rawat, a 1977 batch IAS officer of Sikkim cadre, has been appointed new secretary in Department of Administrative Reforms & Public Grievances and Department of Pensions and Pensioners Welfare. Rawat is presently Secretary in Ministry of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, it said.

Prabhu Dayal Meena, a 1980 batch IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, has been appointed as Secretary in Department of Ex-Servicemen Welfare. Meena, who is presently Special Secretary in Department of Land Resources, will replace Sangita Gairola, who retires this month-end, the release said.

Anuj Kumar Bishnoi, a 1981 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, has been appointed as Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation. Bishnoi is presently Additional Secretary in Department of Defence.

Ashok Kumar Angurana, a 1980 batch IAS officer of Jammu and Kashmir cadre, has been appointed as Secretary in Ministry of Panchayati Raj. Angurana is presently working as Managing Director, TRIFED, Ministry of Tribal Affairs.

The government has appointed Vinod Agrawal, a 1980 batch IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre, as Secretary in National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC). Agrawal is presently working as Adviser, Inter State Council Secretariat under Ministry of Home Affairs.