Manohar Lal Khattar to be sworn in as Haryana CM at Panchkula

Written by Express News Service | Panchkula | Updated: Oct 26 2014, 14:18pm hrs
Manohar Lal Khattar will take oath as the chief minister of Haryana on Sunday at Panchkula. This is the first time that the swearing-in ceremony will held in Panchkula instead of Chandigarh. Besides Khattar, at least six BJP MLAs are likely to be sworn in as ministers.

The front-runners for the Cabinet berths include Narnaud MLA Abhimanyu, BJP state president and Mahendergarh MLA Rambilas Sharma, five-time MLA from Ambala Cantonment Anil Vij, Badli MLA Om Prakash Dhankar, Sonepat MLA Kavita Jain, and Bhiwani MLA Ghanshyam Saraf.

On Friday, Khattar, who represents Karnal, met top BJP and RSS leaders in New Delhi regarding the constitution of his Cabinet.

Manohar Lal Khattar.

The swearing-in ceremony will see a host of top BJP leaders descend on Panchkula. Besides Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP national president Amit Shah, several union ministers including Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley and top RSS leaders are expected to attend the event. Chief ministers of various BJP-ruled states including Punjab, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat are also expected to be present at the Exhibition Ground in Sector 5, Panchkula.

The Prime Minister is expected to land at Chandigarh Airport from where he will reach the venue by road. The official time of the oath-taking ceremony, as per the invitation cards is 11.23 am. Around 5,000 VVIPs are expected to attend the ceremony. Outgoing chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda is also expected to be present.

Anticipating a large turnout of BJP workers, the state official machinery has made elaborate arrangements for Sundays event. Haryana Chief Secretary Shakuntala Jakhu, Director General of Police, S N Vashisht, and Panchkula Deputy Commissioner S S Phulia held a thorough meeting and reviewed arrangements on Saturday. Security has been beefed with over 3,500 police personnel having been deployed in and around the venue.