In manufacturing push, Narendra Modi govt lists 8 electronics hubs

Written by ENS Economic Bureau | New Delhi | Updated: Jun 18 2014, 14:27pm hrs
ElectronicsNDA govt has selected 8 cities, including Ghaziabad, Vadodara, Gandhinagar, Nagpur, Nasik, Thane as potential electronics manufacturing hubs.
The NDA government has selected eight cities as potential electronics manufacturing hub. Companies would be eligible for incentives, including subsidy for setting up such facilities in these cities.

Telecom and information technology minister Ravi Shankar Prasad announced these as part of the first batch of measures by the new government to revive manufacturing in the country.

These would be at Ghaziabad in Uttar Pradesh, Vadodara and Gandhinagar in Gujarat and four cities in Maharashtra: Nagpur, Nasik, Aurangabad and Thane. Maharashtra, incidentally, will elect its state assembly later this year.

The modified Special Incentive Package scheme for the sector notified in July 2012 offers refunds on capital expenditure for new units or for expansion of more than 25 per cent of existing capacity.

The scheme covers production of products across the value chain from raw material to research and development.

Addressing his first press conference, the minister also said seven greenfield electronic manufacturing clusters will also be set up. Electronic manufacturing shall be a key area of priority for this government. This sector has the potential to give employment to 28 million persons.

The clusters are identified at Bhopal, Bhubaneswar,

Hyderabad, Maheshwaram,

Bhiwadi, Jabalpur, Hosur and Kakhanada.

Prasad also said his ministry will promote semiconductor fabrication facilities.